by Gaze Gaze


by Gaze Gaze




While it's the presence of indie goddess Rose Melberg that will undoubtedly cause a stir among the twee-pop kids, Mitsumeru deserves to be taken solely on its own terms -- with Melberg primarily hanging in the background, Gaze is instead left to sink or swim on the talents of Miko Hoffman and Megan Mallett, and they've delivered a superb album with a charming beauty all its own. Granted, it's difficult not to compare Mitsumeru to the music of Tiger Trap or the Softies, but that's as much a result of the uniform excellence of Gaze's songs as it is of the groups' sonic similarities -- tracks like "Shady," "Jelly-Bean" and "Anyway" are deceptively simple and insidiously catchy, by turns sharply witty and crushingly sad. A wonderful debut.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/10/1998
Label: K. Records
UPC: 0789856108022
catalogNumber: 80
Rank: 144234


  1. Shady
  2. Jelly-Bean
  3. Bob Again
  4. 400 A.D.
  5. Anyway
  6. Portrait
  7. Preppy Villain
  8. Peeking Shows His Ignorance
  9. Listen
  10. Eric Idol
  11. Seed-Less
  12. Turquoise
  13. X-Real
  14. You Glow

Album Credits

Customer Reviews