Midwinter Graces [Deluxe Edition] [CD/DVD Combo]

Midwinter Graces [Deluxe Edition] [CD/DVD Combo]

by Tori Amos
3 New & Used Starting at $2.56


After nearly two decades writing and recording some of her generation's most emotionally powerful music, Tori Amos releases her first seasonal album, Midwinter Graces. A follow up to Tori's critically acclaimed studio album, Abnormally Attracted to Sin, Midwinter Graces finds Tori reworking and expanding on classic carols, as well as developing some of her very own seasonal tracks.

Midwinter Graces is an album that has been in the making for the past 40 years. Raised in the Baltimore area under the watchful eye of her Methodist minister father, Tori grew up playing holiday carols at Sunday services and Christmas Day celebrations in her father's church. These were the songs that gave the young Tori her first taste of music, and now almost 40 years later Tori gets her own chance to reimagine classics like "What Child, Nowell" and "Star of Wonder." Tori will also add her own bittersweet bliss to the season with original tracks like "Pink and Glitter" and "Our New Year."

For Midwinter Graces, Amos has again teamed up with long time collaborators Matt Chamberlain on drums, Jon Evans on bass, and Mac Aladdin on guitars. Tori has enlisted the help of a big band and an orchestra with stunning John Philip Shenale arrangements to create her new seasonal classics. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/2009
Label: Republic
UPC: 0602527234496
catalogNumber: 001362910

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tori Amos   Primary Artist,Piano,Harpsichord,Vocals,Wurlitzer
Ronnie Cuber   Baritone Saxophone
Bob Malach   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Tom "Bones" Malone   Trombone
Mark Cargill   Violin
Matt Chamberlain   Percussion,Drums,Bells
Ernest Ehrhardt   Cello
Charles Everett   Violin
Lawrence Feldman   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Armen Garabedian   Violin
Tony Kadleck   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Armen Ksadjikian   Cello
Bob Millikan   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Dan Neufeld   Viola
Keith O'Quinn   Trombone
Jimbo Ross   Viola
John Philip Shenale   Synthesizer,Conductor,Sampling
Harry Shirinian   Viola
Haim Shtrum   Violin
Francine Walsh   Violin
Evan Wilson   Viola
John Wittenberg   Violin
Margaret Wooten   Violin
Shari Zippert   Violin
Bob Peterson   Violin
Jon Evans   Bass
Norm Hughes   Violin
Calabria McChesney   Violin
Gil Romero   Violin
Bruce Burchmore   Lute
Timothy Loo   Cello
Nancy Ross   Cello
Benedikt Brydern   Violin
Philip Vaiman   Violin
Dave Taylor   Bass Trombone
Mac Aladdin   Guitar
James De La Garza   Trumpet
Samuel Paul Bortka   Bass Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Dan "D Unit" Levine   Trombone
Kelsey Dobyns   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Brian Pareschi   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Natashya Hawley   Vocals
Giovanna Moraga Clayton   Cello
Razdan Kuyumjian   Violin

Technical Credits

Tori Amos   Arranger,Composer,Lyricist,Producer,Additional Music
Lon Price   Orchestration
John Philip Shenale   String Arrangements,Brass Arrangment
Mark Hawley   Engineer
Marcel VanLimbeek   Engineer
Sandy Brummels   Art Direction
John Witherspoon   Management
Traditional   Composer
Chelsea Laird   Management
Christopher Kornmann   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews