by Massive AttackMassive Attack


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


On their third recording, Mezzanine, Massive Attack manage to jack it up without getting much louder. Retaining the deep, dubby bass lines that underpin most of 1991's Blue Lines and 1995's Protection, the Bristol, England, collective adds snarling guitar drones, Middle Eastern vocal accents, and electric keyboards to their sonic landscape. The result is alluring and deliberately unobtrusive, though slightly oblique, as Elizabeth Fraser (of the Cocteau Twins) and regulars Horace Andy and Sarah Jay croon gentle tales atop this sonic concoction. "Teardrop" and "Risingson" -- which features a sample of the Velvet's "I Found a Reason" -- are among the highlights, and though they don't quite match the cool fire of Blue Lines's best track, "Unfinished Sympathy," this album is more consistent than its predecessors, and innovative throughout.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/12/1998
Label: Virgin Records Us
UPC: 0724384559922
catalogNumber: 45599

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Massive Attack   Primary Artist,Keyboards,Sampling
Horace Andy   Vocals
Winston Blissett   Bass Guitar
Angelo Bruschini   Guitar
Elizabeth Fraser   Vocals
Andy Gangadeen   Drums
John Harris   Bass Guitar
Michael Timothy   Keyboards
Robert Locke   Bass Guitar
Neil Davidge   Keyboards,Sampling
Robert "3D" del Naja   Vocals
Dave Jenkins   Keyboards
Grantley Marshall   Vocals
Sara Jay   Vocals
John Mark Harris   Bass Guitar
Bob Locke   Bass Guitar
Tim Young   scratching

Technical Credits

John Holt   Composer
Massive Attack   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer
Elizabeth Fraser   Composer
Mort Garson   Composer
Bob Hilliard   Composer
Robert Smith   Composer
Laurence Tolhurst   Composer
Neil Davidge   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Robert "3D" del Naja   Composer,Art Direction
Andrew "Mushroom" Vowles   Composer
Mushroom   Composer
Horace Hinds   Composer
Grantley Marshall   Composer
Sara Jay   Composer
Lee Shepherd   Engineer
Tom Hingston   Art Direction
Tim Young   Cut

Customer Reviews