Metal Works '73-'93

Metal Works '73-'93

by Judas PriestJudas Priest


$21.88 $22.99 Save 5% Current price is $21.88, Original price is $22.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Although the double-disc Metal Works '73-'93 is an intoxicating listen, it isn't quite the definitive Judas Priest retrospective it could have been. Six of the band's 11 U.K. chart singles aren't here, and while "Johnny B. Goode" probably won't be missed, Hell Bent for Leather's "Take on the World" and "Evening Star," British Steel's "United," and Point of Entry's "Don't Go" and "Hot Rockin'" ought to have been included, especially since they were released during the band's influential prime. One could also argue for more material from the Stained Class era and less from the weaker mid- to late-'80s albums. Plus, the songs aren't arranged in chronological order, which makes it difficult to piece together the band's evolution and (sometimes trend-following) stylistic shifts. But quibbles aside, the collection makes a strong case for Judas Priest's versatility, drawing from nearly all of their albums' material, encompassing dark, driving riff rockers, melodic heavy metal, radio-ready commercial hard rock, the occasional ballad, and lyrics ranging from street-tough aggression and party anthems to sci-fi/fantasy themes and hints at Satanic posturing. The band's musicianship shines throughout; Priest's tightly controlled style was played with a sense of groove that allowed the music to breathe and kept it from sounding too tight-assed. In between the lesser-known tracks, which are often impressive, comes one metal classic after another: "Victim of Changes," "Living After Midnight," "Breaking the Law," "Hell Bent for Leather," "You've Got Another Thing Comin'," "Screaming for Vengeance," and more. Even if it isn't quite a definitive portrait of the band, it is an enjoyable one; many necessary items are here, and it rocks hard from start to finish.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/12/2011
Label: Imports
UPC: 5099750213827
catalogNumber: 943019
Rank: 37091


Disc 1

  1. Hellion
  2. Electric Eye
  3. Victim Of Changes
  4. Painkiller
  5. Eat Me Alive
  6. Devil's Child
  7. Dissident Aggressor
  8. Delivering The Goods
  9. Exciter
  10. Breaking The Law
  11. Hell Bent For Leather
  12. Blood Red Skies
  13. Metal Gods
  14. Before The Dawn
  15. Turbo Lover
  16. Ram It Down
  17. Metal Meltdown

Disc 2

  1. Screaming For Vengeance
  2. You've Got Another Thing Comin'
  3. Beyond The Realms Of Death
  4. Solar Angels
  5. Bloodstone
  6. Desert Plains
  7. Wild Nights Hot And Crazy Days
  8. Heading Out To The Highway
  9. Living After Midnight
  10. Touch Of Evil
  11. Rage
  12. Night Comes Down
  13. Sinner
  14. Freewheel Burning
  15. Night Crawler

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Judas Priest   Primary Artist
Simon Phillips   Drums
Binks   Drums
Rob Halford   Vocals
Ian Hill   Bass Guitar
Scott Travis   Drums
Dave Holland   Drums

Technical Credits

Judas Priest   Producer,Original Idea
Roger Glover   Producer
Binks   Composer
Tim Burrell   Engineer
Bill Curbishley   Management
K.K. Downing   Composer
James Guthrie   Producer
Rob Halford   Composer
Dennis MacKay   Producer
Glenn Tipton   Composer
Chris Tsangarides   Composer,Producer
Neil Jeffries   Liner Notes
Jayne Andrews   Remastering Coordination
Mark Wilkinson   Cover Illustration
Tom Allom   Producer

Customer Reviews