Message for the Mess Age

Message for the Mess Age



Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This title became the final studio effort from NRBQ to include Al Anderson (guitar/vocals), marking the conclusion of their 23-year association. The split was ultimately amicable, with Anderson effectively retiring from both the band as well as touring, preferring to mine his considerable songwriting talents in Nashville, TN. Message for the Mess Age includes a baker's dozen of originals -- many of which quickly became performance standards -- all epitomizing NRBQ's uncanny brand of omni-pop. It is fitting that both the Whole Wheat Horns -- featuring Donn Adams (trombone) and Gary Windo (tenor sax) -- as well as Johnny Spampinato, Anderson's replacement and brother of co-founding member Joey Spampinato, are included in the proceedings. However, his contributions to this release are decidedly un-stringed, as he fleshes out the horn section performing on trumpet during the Terry Adams- (keyboards/vocals) penned bit of dadaism titled "Spampinato." Each of the highly individualistic writing styles that have become synonymous with the band are explored. Terry Adams' straight-ahead, driving rock, which is often enhanced with interesting key changes and a somewhat quirky chorus, is heard on tracks such as "Over Your Head," "Girl Scout Cookies," and the atonal jazz fusion-influenced "Everybody's Smokin'." Joey Spampinato's beautifully constructed melodies -- which are at times reminiscent of Paul McCartney or Brian Wilson -- can be found on "Don't Bite the Head" and the mid-tempo ballad "Ramona." The latter track even pays homage to the Fab Four with the lyric "Just love me do/Don't love me not." Equally strong -- if not arguably stronger -- are the compositions by Anderson. His upbeat love songs, "A Little Bit of Bad" and "Nothin' Wrong With Me," definitely lean into the cosmopolitan country music that would consume his post-NRBQ activities.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/05/2006
Label: Wounded Bird
UPC: 0664140142725
catalogNumber: 1427
Rank: 41514

Album Credits

Performance Credits

NRBQ   Primary Artist
Anderson   Guitar,Vocals
Gary Windo   Tenor Saxophone
Terry Adams   Piano,Celeste,Keyboards,Vocals
Don Allen   Percussion
Tom Ardolino   Percussion,Drums
Joey Spampinato   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Johnny Spampinato   Trumpet
Donn Adams   Trombone
Don Adams   Trombone

Technical Credits

Chris Anderson   Engineer
Terry Adams   Producer
Chris Andersen   Engineer
George Cowan   Engineer
Todd Levine   Engineer
Tom Mark   Engineer
Joey Spampinato   Producer
Tod Vas   Engineer,Contributor
Geoff Gans   Artwork,Art Direction

Customer Reviews