Memories Are Made of This

Memories Are Made of This

by Ray Conniff & His Orchestra
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, January 29
3 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Memories Are Made of This was one of Ray Conniff's most commercially successful albums -- and also one of his most distinctive. The songs are a typical assortment of hits from the previous decade, but Conniff remakes them in surprising and creative ways. The album is strictly instrumental in its approach, with Conniff's chorus confined to the wordless vocalizing for which it is famous. Subtle Latin beats and playful arrangements transform "Tammy" and "Three Coins in the Fountain" into minor masterpieces; the listener may recognize the melodies, but Conniff's interpretations are refreshingly new. The repertoire smartly ties together traditional and teen pop to create a broadly appealing program of songs ranging from "Love Me Tender" and "Love Letters in the Sand" to pop oldies like "No Other Love." Memories Are Made of This is simultaneously an infectiously fun album and an impressive display of inspired arrangements.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/01/2008
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886972488622
catalogNumber: 724886
Rank: 62598

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ray Conniff & His Orchestra   Primary Artist
Ray Conniff   Track Performer
Billy Butterfield   Trumpet
Bernie Leighton   Piano
Doc Severinsen   Trumpet
Chorus   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Buck Ram   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Rick Cartey   Composer
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Charles F. Kenny   Composer
Alex North   Composer
Peter Oliver   Cover Photo
Jule Styne   Composer
Ned Washington   Composer
Victor Young   Composer
Hy Zaret   Composer
Ray Conniff & His Orchestra   Contributor
Rann Productions   Producer
Nick Kenny   Composer
Ande Rand   Composer
Carole Joyner   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews