by Rascal FlattsRascal Flatts


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 12


Buoyant harmonies, infectious rhythms, bright pop-country melodies, and an optimistic worldview made Rascal Flatts' 2000 debut album a platinum winner, and that formula serves the clean-cut trio well on their sophomore effort, Melt. Already a hit single before the album's release, "These Days" kicks off the disc with a heart-tugging, mid-tempo meditation detailing a post-breakup life and the love lingering there. It's no doubt the first of many chart-toppers off an album that typifies state-of-the-art mainstream country. In 2002, that means it has an industrial-grade pop sheen overlaying pockets of traditional instrumentation and an ever-so-slight twang in its well-crafted vocals. But give the Flatts' boys -- Joe Don Rooney, Jay DeMarcus, and Gary Levox -- credit for bringing a lotta heart to what could be a constrictive, if lucrative, musical template. They inject a winning conviction into "Like I Am," a power ballad declaring a man's vow to work on being as good as his woman thinks he is. Stressed out by the pressures of the five o'clock world? In a charming bit of introspection, the Flatts recommend turning off your mind and making a restorative journey to "Mayberry," a place in memory where life was "black and white" and days were passed on the front porch drinking Cherry Coke. On the propulsive "Fallin' Upside Down," complex harmonies and vocal interplay, heightened by some searing '80s rock guitar and artsy keyboard flourishes, become the aural equivalent of the first deliciously dizzying feelings of new love. Rascal Flatts make no apologies for their sunny disposition, and there's no need to. A little light during dark days is always welcome. And the Melt-in-your mouth pills here go down sweetly.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/29/2002
Label: Lyric Street
UPC: 0720616503121
catalogNumber: 165031
Rank: 92867


  1. These Days
  2. Too Good Is True
  3. I Melt
  4. Mayberry
  5. Love You Out Loud
  6. Dry County Girl
  7. Like I Am
  8. You
  9. Fallin' Upside Down
  10. Shine On
  11. My Worst Fear

Album Credits

Customer Reviews