Meet Me at the River

Meet Me at the River

by Dawn Landes


$14.99 $16.99 Save 12% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Meet Me at the River plays like the mirror image to its predecessor, 2014's Bluebird. Where that record was sparse and heartbroken, Meet Me at the River is a rich, supple record, thanks in large part to Dawn Landes' decision to hire Fred Foster, a Nashville legend who produced classic recordings by Roy Orbison, Kris Kristofferson, and Willie Nelson. Landes isn't quite looking to re-create the lush sound of countrypolitan, but rather a vibe that blends the clean lines of '60s country with the eccentricity of Foster's work with Kristofferson. The stable of Music City pros gives the album an appealing snap and Landes is game to play by some of Nashville's rules, co-writing a few of the tunes, including the sly barroom two-step "Why They Name Whiskey After Men," covering an old Jimmie Driftwood tune ("What Is the Color of the Soul of Man"), and duetting with Bobby Bare on the good-natured "I Don't Dance." While she can wander into melancholic territory on occasion, even those numbers feel openhearted, and that warmth is what's so charming about Meet Me at the River. Landes is ready and willing to create her own spin on classic country, winding up with a generous and clever gem.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/10/2018
Label: Yep Roc Records
UPC: 0634457263925
catalogNumber: 2639
Rank: 58064

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dawn Landes   Primary Artist
Bobby Bare   Vocals
Steve Gibson   Guitar
Bobby Wood   Piano,Keyboards
Eddie Bayers   Drums
Larry Franklin   Violin
Steve Nathan   Piano,Keyboards
Russ Pahl   Pedal Steel Guitar
Larry Paxton   Bass
John Willis   Acoustic Guitar
Charlie McCoy   Harmonica,Vibes
Bobby Terry   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin
Mary Lee Kortes   Vocals
Wes Hightower   Vocals
Angel Snow   Vocals
Kevin Sokolnicki   Vocals
Jamie Morrison   Percussion

Technical Credits

Jimmie Driftwood   Composer
Fred Foster   Composer,Producer
Kyle Lehning   Engineer
Thom Schuyler   Composer
Mary Lee Kortes   Composer
Dawn Landes   Composer
Dave Salley   Engineer
Angel Snow   Composer
Jim McCormick   Composer
Shervin Lainez   Cover Photo
Mike Stankiewicz   Engineer
Kevin Sokolnicki   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews