Me Without You

Me Without You

by Kelly Rimmer

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16

Overview

A story of how love can break our hearts - and heal them.

A year ago I met the love of my life. For two people who didn't believe in love at first sight, we came pretty close.

Lilah MacDonald - beautiful, opinionated, stubborn and all kinds of wonderful in ways that words could never quite capture. The woman who taught me to live again.

My Lilah, who gave me so much, and yet kept from me a secret that she knew would break my heart.

My name is Callum Roberts, and this is our story.

Me Without You is a book to make you smile, bring you to tears and remind you to hold on tightly to those you love.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781909490390
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 06/04/2014
Pages: 344
Sales rank: 88,927
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.80(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Me Without You 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
karaneleni More than 1 year ago
Me Without You is a beautifully intense story. I read all 287 pages in one sitting and was exhausted at work the next day. Worth it. I’m not usually an ugly crier but this one did me and half a box of Kleenex in. Again, worth it. I posted the following on Facebook after putting my Paperwhite down to regain my composure (read: let my lake filled eyes dry up a bit) before reading the last chapter..."ugly crying while reading and no one there to see it. Holy crap this book is...I'm not even sure how to describe it other than it needs to be read by all. Writing this review is gonna be hard!" I was not lying when I said it would be difficult to write. I’ve been holding off so I didn’t have to go through another stack of tissues. It is now time. I fell in love with Callum and Lilah on page 1. Callum had no issue expressing his opinion and Lilah was a driven career woman living life to the fullest and not wearing her shoes on the ferry. Both were amazingly well written and I felt as though I was a fly on the wall witnessing their story. While Callum was the main narrator, Lilah’s journal entries created small chapters showing her musings. The back and forth between perspectives was a great choice. I don’t remember the exact page that my eyes started leaking, but I remember the moment. The moment when you read one sentence and it hits you like an anvil falling from the sky. Or someone running into you and knocking the air out of your lungs. A jaw dropping, heart stopping realization that sets the tone for the rest of the book and will stick with you for days or weeks after you’re done reading. I’m definitely not saying this is a bad thing or that it will happen for everyone who reads Me Without You (which you should…NOW!!!), just that this feeling is back with me as I type these words. Thankfully, no tears yet, which means I need to wrap this up before they start. A tremendous thank you to Kelly and Bookouture for making me bawl like a baby with this captivating story. I have added the paperback to my wish list. This book will grace my shelves soon. I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
A special thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. A powerful heartwarming story of love and loss. Kelly Rimmer has a created a winner, with her eloquent writing style, as she speaks from the heart, with raw emotions from different points of view. An engaging and emotional journey of the power of love---one you will not soon forget. ME WITHOUT YOU reminds me of Sweet November, A Walk to Remember, The Notebook, and Me Before You. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Jane Green, or Nicholas Sparks will be captivated by Australian author, Kelly Rimmer, as highly-charged topics and real issues of the heart such as genetic disease, illegal treatment, family, personal growth, living vs. dying, suicide, grief, sadness, joy, sorrow, heartbreak, relationships, love, and more for a roller coaster ride. A powerful novel of depth and substance----so much more than a love story or romance. I would highly recommend to women and men, of all ages, especially ones with loved ones suffering from any terminal illness, or possibly caretakers. Lilah, is an independent woman, a quirky vegan (so am I), an environmental lawyer, a free spirit—living her life to the fullest. She likes to be barefoot to feel the earth (you later learn why). Callum,(Cal) is a workaholic, marketing professional, (metrosexual) making no time for social life or family. Total opposites-- with a growing chemistry between this mismatched pair, as they learn from one another. Lilah realizes their relationship will not be long term and plans to break it off, but the longer it continues, the deeper the feelings. Tomorrow is always the day. They begin to learn each other’s habits, likes, and dislikes. She takes it one day at a time, when Cal wants to discuss longer term. They know each other secrets –all but ONE. Lilah has an in town apartment in Manly, near his apartment, and a stunning secret retreat in Gosford on the beach. The farm is her inner sanctuary-- Where she goes to rest, celebrate, grieve, and lick her wounds. What you do not learn in the first half of the book, is the reason she guards her heart. Lilah has a genetic DNA problem, HD Huntington’s disease, and by a chance miracle, she has been in remission for five years. Readers will learn of her former relationship with another guy with HD which she met at a clinic---he died shortly after an illegal treatment and she actually has been going great—until now. Cal is the first real guy she has fallen for. Prior to the symptoms which will begin to occur, she desires to end their relationship, as she wants Cal to remember her the way she is presently. The second half of the book, is much more of an intense page-turner, so do not give up when you start reading. Neither of them, are looking for a commitment, but they are falling deep. This novel will keep you crying and laughing, as you bookmark pages for parts would want to remember. Their journey is so special, as even though she pushed him away to save him, he loved her enough to be there. A well-written beautiful novel. So many reviewers have not discussed her illness, nor is it disclosed on the summary; however, I feel this is a key factor, as why I chose to read the book. It is not a spoiler, it is more of an enhancement, similar to the books and movies I noted above. This emotional journey is very inspiring, demonstrating the true feelings of one with an illness, and the life lessons learned as they affect others.
jeanniezelos More than 1 year ago
Me Without You, Kelly Rimmer. Review from jeannie Zelos book reviews Well, wow – what a read...but to be honest this book needs a warning. It IS romance as it states, a beautiful, heart-warming, breath-taking romance but its not the sweet HEA kind...Its one of those that will have you in tears, its incredibly emotional. I was expecting a traditional type romance, having got several books on my review list and not recalling the description other than romance...and it seemed slow to start, inter sting but I kept wondering where it was going. I loved Lilah, she's all the things many of us aspire to, and yet can't quite bring ourselves to do. Callum, he's more like most of us, lots of things he'd like to do “one day” but they get left in the day to day humdrum, earning a living struggle. Lilah teaches him how to have fun, how to enjoy life, and in the process they fall in love, and that's something neither intended for different reasons. Then heartbreak, things go wrong, and I was gutted, and then just when I thought we'd reached the low point there was more, and it brought me to tears. Yet through that dark period there was so much beauty. There were smiles in my tears, light in all that darkness and I had so much admiration for both of them. The description says“ Me Without You is a book to make you smile, bring you to tears and remind you to hold on tightly to those you love.” That's so so true, and its a book that once read will stay with you for ages. Whether it makes anyone change their aims and ideals I don't know, but it certainly encourages us to look at what's really important in life. Stars: five, a lovely book, but not one I'll re read. Its very very emotional read,. So be in the right mood when you pick it up. ARC supplied via Netgalley