Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A generously illustrated look at the intricate narrative threads of three of the artist’s earliest works, and their continued resonance today

Celebrated for works blending performance, video, and sculpture, Matthew Barney has created complex narratives that emerge across series since his earliest exhibitions. Matthew Barney: OTTO Trilogy is the first book to trace the progression of three significant early projects—Facility of INCLINE, Facility of DECLINE, and OTTOshaft— and to reveal the narrative system that links them. Titled after former football player Jim Otto, the series explores the training, discipline, and physical limits of the body alongside questions of sexual difference and desire. Featuring an illuminating introduction by Nancy Spector; an essay by Maggie Nelson on the works’ exploration of psychology, bodies, image-making, narrative, and abstraction; and a new text by the artist, this generously illustrated volume includes previously unpublished artist’s sketches, behind-the-scenes photographs, research material, and video stills. It is the definitive publication on this important series, and offers a key to understanding many of the themes that thread throughout Barney’s oeuvre.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780300223699
Publisher: Yale University Press
Publication date: 10/25/2016
Pages: 200
Product dimensions: 8.20(w) x 11.10(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Matthew Barney is an artist based in New York. Nancy Spector is deputy director and chief curator at the Brooklyn Museum. Maggie Nelson is an essayist, poet, and cultural critic. 

Customer Reviews