Matter of Intent

Matter of Intent

by Gary Earl Ross

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


*Winner of the 2005 Edgar Award from Mystery Writers of America.
*Winner of the 2005 Emanuel Fried Outstanding New Play Award.
*A featured selection of the 2009 NAAA Crossing the Divide Festival in London, England.

In this tense courtroom drama, it is 1960, and America is beginning to shake off the sleepy Fifties. Kennedy and Nixon vie for the White House. Sam Cooke and Chubby Checker electrify radio audiences. The Untouchables and Perry Mason are on TV as lunch counter sit-ins spread throughout the segregated South. And in Buffalo, New York, a live-in housekeeper is found holding a bloody knife and crying over the body of her employer. Now immersed in her first capital case, one of the city's three black women lawyers is locked in the courtroom fight of her life. No one doubts the defendant the press calls "the Negro Lizzie Borden" murdered socialite Kate Wayborn. But if Temple Scott is to keep young Mae Lou McKitchen out of the electric chair, she must uncover the truth behind the crime. Murder, you see, is always a matter of intent . . .

Product Details

BN ID: 2940012981752
Publisher: The Writer's Den
Publication date: 09/05/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 842 KB

About the Author

Novelist, playwright, anthologist, popular culture scholar, and public radio essayist Gary Earl Ross is a language arts professor at the University at Buffalo Educational Opportunity Center. With more than 170 publications, he has won awards for fiction, poetry, drama, and public radio commentary. He is the author of the short story collections The Wheel of Desire (2000) and Shimmerville (2002), and the novel Blackbird Rising (2009). Ross edited Nickel City Nights (2008) and co-edited (with Gunilla Theander Kester) The Empty Chair: Love and Loss in the Wake of Flight 3407 (2010) and The Still Empty Chair (2011). In addition to Matter of Intent, Ross is the author of six other stage plays already produced or scheduled for production: Sleepwalker (2002), Picture Perfect (2007), The Best Woman (2007), Murder Squared (2010), The Scavenger’s Daughter (2011-12), and The Mark of Cain (2012). A member of the Just Buffalo Literary Center, Mystery Writers of America, the Dramatist Guild, and the Mid-Atlantic Popular/American Culture Association (for which he edits the academic journal Almanack), Ross is also resident playwright and board president for Buffalo’s renowned Ujima Company. For more information visit

Customer Reviews