Masters of Jazz

Masters of Jazz

by Duke EllingtonDuke Ellington




While tempted to call this collection of tracks by Duke Ellington & His Orchestra a hodgepodge, it's more like a mishmash. The music here -- 18 cuts worth -- is presented in strange fashion. First, it's from all different periods ranging from 1943 to 1966 (the latest cut chronologically is a solo piano read of a medley of Duke's finest). It's not presented in chronological order either, but was sequenced aesthetically instead. The first pieces, "Take the 'A' Train" and "Blow Boy Blow," are from 1962 when the band, while not in its prime, did contain a number of startling players including Cat Anderson and Ray Nance on trumpets, Paul Gonsalves and Johnny Hodges on saxophones, and Sam Woodyard and Harry Carney on drums and bass, respectively. These tunes swing hard, though the sound quality is a little ragged. The treasure piece here is the aforementioned solo piano medley recorded in Paris in 1966, with Ellington moving through "It Don't Mean a Thing," "Satin Doll," "Sophisticated Lady," "I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)," "Mood Indigo," and "Caravan," just to name a few. At nearly 12 minutes, it is excellent intimate Ellington. The remainder of the material comes from either 1943 or 1949, including a number of cuts with Ben Webster and Juan Tizol, recorded at either Carnegie Hall or the Hollywood Empire. Al Hibbler is featured on some of the 1943 dates singing "Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me," "Rockin' in Rhythm," and "Ring Dem Bells." The sound quality varies but the performances are excellent throughout. This is for the collectors out there searching for rare material.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/11/2006
Label: Storyville Records
UPC: 0717101850129
catalogNumber: 1018501

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Duke Ellington   Primary Artist,Piano
Hibbler   Vocals
Cat Anderson   Trumpet
Paul Gonsalves   Tenor Saxophone
Johnny Hodges   Alto Saxophone
Ray Nance   Trumpet,Vocals
Rex Stewart   Trumpet
Ben Webster   Tenor Saxophone
Aaron Bell   Bass
Lawrence Brown   Trombone
Tyree Glenn   Trombone
Taft Jordan   Trumpet
Russell Procope   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Chuck Connors   Trombone
Quentin Jackson   Trombone
Sonny Greer   Drums
Harold Baker   Trumpet
Harry Carney   Clarinet,Bass Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone
Fred Guy   Guitar
Jimmy Hamilton   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Killian   Trumpet
Wendell Marshall   Bass
Ed Mullens   Trumpet
Juan Tizol   Trombone
Elmer "Skippy" Williams   Tenor Saxophone
Sam Woodyard   Drums
Leon Cox   Trombone
Wallace Jones   Trumpet
Oett "Sax" Mallard   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Francis Williams   Trumpet
Chauncey Houghton   Clarinet
Joseph Nanton   Trombone

Technical Credits

Duke Ellington   Composer
Billy Strayhorn   Composer
Mike Hennessey Chastet   Liner Notes,Biographical Notes
Anders Stefansen   Producer

Customer Reviews