Masque [Bonus Tracks]

Masque [Bonus Tracks]

by Kansas Kansas
Masque [Bonus Tracks]

Masque [Bonus Tracks]

by Kansas Kansas


$4.99 $6.99 Save 29% Current price is $4.99, Original price is $6.99. You Save 29%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 8


Kansas' third album, Masque, is a lyrically dark effort courtesy of guitarist/keyboardist Kerry Livgren's brooding songwriting. Musically, Masque foreshadows the tight melodies and instrumental interplay on the next two albums, Leftoverture and Point of Know Return, which together serve as the peak of Kansas' vision. The band deserves more respect than it gets for incorporating British hard rock and progressive rock to become the only U.S. progressive rock band of note during the genre's 1970s heyday. Robbie Steinhardt's violin work certainly helped give Kansas a distinctive sound. The liner notes indicate Masque is a "concept album" thanks to the title's definition: "A disguise of reality created through a theatrical or musical performance." Vocalist/keyboardist Steve Walsh's "It Takes a Woman's Love (To Make a Man)" is the leadoff track, and it's atypical of the rest of the album. The song is a fairly basic yet groovy pop
ock tune about musicians' loneliness on the road, but it is spiced up with some saxophone lines. "Two Cents Worth" addresses guilt, misery, and spiritual longing -- pretty heavy stuff for six guys who were only in their mid-twenties. In "Icarus--Borne on Wings of Steel," Kansas' prog rock ambitions show through the mythology-based lyrics and the densely arranged guitars and keyboards. Walsh and Steinhardt's "All the World" is largely a bleak examination of loneliness and death, although it does end with a glimmer of hope. "Child of Innocence" is a tough blast of hard rock with a soaring chorus. "Mysteries and Mayhem" rocks along, yet it's rich with haunting nightmare imagery and biblical references. The nine-and-a-half-minute epic "The Pinnacle" closes the album. [The 2001 CD reissue on Epic/Legacy adds previously unreleased demos of "Child of Innocence" and "It's You."]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2008
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886972379029
catalogNumber: 723790
Rank: 28678


  1. It Takes a Woman's Love (To Make a Man)
  2. Two Cents Worth
  3. Icarus--Borne on Wings of Steel
  4. All the World
  5. Child of Innocence
  6. It's You
  7. Mysteries and Mayhem
  8. The Pinnacle
  9. Child of Innocence
  10. It's You

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kansas   Primary Artist
Kerry Livgren   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Rhythm Guitar,Keyboards,Clavinet,Moog Synthesizer,ARP
Steve Walsh   Organ,Piano,Conga,Keyboards,Vocals,Clavinet,Moog Synthesizer
Phil Ehart   Percussion,Drums,Moog Drum
Dave Hope   Bass,Bass Guitar
Earl Lon Price   Saxophone
Lon Price   Saxophone
Robbie Steinhardt   Violin,Vocals
Rich Williams   Guitar

Technical Credits

Kansas   Arranger
Kerry Livgren   Composer
Steve Walsh   Composer
Budd Carr   Direction
Jeff Glixman   Producer
Lee Peterzell   Engineer
Robbie Steinhardt   Composer
James Stroud   Engineer
David Wild   Liner Notes
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction
David Gahr   Back Cover
Giuseppe Arcimboldo   Cover Art
Jeff Magid   Producer

Customer Reviews