Martyr To Freedom: The Life and Death of Captain Daniel Drayton

Martyr To Freedom: The Life and Death of Captain Daniel Drayton

by Zachary Martin

Paperback(2nd Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Captain Daniel Drayton is a relatively unknown figure of American history who lived the life of an Atlantic coastal trader and abolitionist. He is memorable for his bravery in attempting to transport seventy-seven fugitive slaves to the North onboard the ship, the Pearl. In the summer of 1857, Drayton came to the city of New Bedford, Massachusetts and took his own life for reasons that were never determined - this work investigates his possible motives for doing so. Captain Daniel Drayton's life was filled with ambition and afflicted by failure, yet history sometimes forgets that those who have failed are just as valuable as those who succeeded. Martyr to Freedom illuminates the sad but honorable life of the abolitionist, set in a historical context. Readers of all ages can gain a sense of understanding and respect for this tragic time in American history, and the people who helped bring us out of it.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780761854227
Publisher: Hamilton Books
Publication date: 11/23/2011
Edition description: 2nd Edition
Pages: 130
Product dimensions: 6.09(w) x 9.08(h) x 0.42(d)

About the Author

Zachary J. Martin is adjunct professor of history at Roger Williams University, Salem State University, and Bristol Community College. Professor Martin is the author of The Mindless Menace of Violence: Robert F. Kennedy's Vision and the Fierce Urgency of Now. Martyr to Freedom was Professor Martin's first book, and this second edition is a follow up to his research and an expansion on the life and death of Captain Daniel Drayton. Professor Martin is dedicated to the study of history and has focused his research on the political aspects of nineteenth-century America, as well as violence in American society, memory and history, and privateering.

Table of Contents

Part 1 Acknowledgements Part 2 Introduction to the Second Edition Part 3 Preface Chapter 4 1 The End and the Beginning Chapter 5 2 Rebirth Chapter 6 3 Cruise of the Pearl Chapter 7 4 Trials and Tribulations Chapter 8 5 Long Road into the Night Chapter 9 6 The Beginning and the End Part 10 Bibliography Part 11 Index Part 12 About the Author

Customer Reviews