Pub. Date:
Mark of the Grizzly: Revised And Updated With More Stories Of Recent Bear Attacks And The Hard Lessons Learned

Mark of the Grizzly: Revised And Updated With More Stories Of Recent Bear Attacks And The Hard Lessons Learned

by Scott Mcmillion

Paperback(3rd Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 29


A must-read about these magnificent but sometimes deadly creatures-thoroughly revised, expanded, and updated

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781493049608
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 12/01/2020
Edition description: 3rd Edition
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 336,265
Product dimensions: 6.01(w) x 9.11(h) x 0.85(d)

About the Author

Scott McMillion has been an award-winning journalist and author for more than 20 years. He is the author of Mark of the Grizzly, now in its 13th printing, and has been senior editor of the critically acclaimed Montana Quarterly for the past five years. McMillion has been writing about environmental issues, including grizzly bears, for more than 20 years. His byline has appeared in newspapers and magazines around the nation and his essays have been collected in several books. His award-winning journalism has been cited in hundreds of popular and scientific articles and books. McMillion is well connected with journalists around the nation. He has been a featured essayist on PBS’ The News Hour with Jim Lehrer and he has been interviewed many times on television and radio programs. As a veteran investigative journalist, McMillion understands how to ferret out the depths of a story, then bring it home to readers.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments vi

Introduction to the Revised Edition vii

Introduction to the Original Edition x

1 Treat It Right 1

2 Long Day at Kitty Creek 19

3 Big Trouble in Banff 30

4 A Bear of a Job 44

5 In the Box 59

6 Red Hot Chili Pepper 69

7 A New Kind of Scared 83

8 A Picture to Die For 90

9 Bear Whisperers 110

10 Grizzly RoboCop 123

11 Good Luck in Low Country 137

12 The Cost of Curiosity 149

13 Warm Spell 159

14 Last Run at McHugh 173

15 Bikes and Bears 187

16 Dinner Bells? 196

17 A Friend in Need 208

18 You've Got to Wonder 216

19 Suffering the Fools 228

20 The Honeymooners 237

21 The Bear's Story 247

22 Bears Are Important 254

23 A Rare and Ghastly Night 270

24 Epilogue: Mark of the Grizzly 279

Selected Bibliography 281

Index 282

About the Author 286

Customer Reviews