Many Dimensions

Many Dimensions

by Charles Williams


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


"Many Dimensions" is a 1930 novel by Charles W. S. Williams. Charles Walter Stansby Williams (1886 - 1945) was a British theologian, novelist, poet, playwright, and literary critic. He was also a member of the "The Inklings", a literary discussion group connected to the University of Oxford, England. They were exclusively literary enthusiasts who championed the merit of narrative in fiction and concentrated on writing fantasy. He was given an scholarship to University College London, but was forced to leave in 1904 because he couldn't afford the tuition fees. Other notable works by this author include: "The Greater Trumps" (1932), "War in Heaven" (1930), and "The Place of the Lion" (1931). This volume is highly recommended for lovers of fantasy fiction, and it would make for a fantastic addition to any collection. Many vintage books such as this are increasingly scarce and expensive. It is with this in mind that we are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with the original text and artwork.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781528711784
Publisher: Read Books
Publication date: 04/17/2019
Pages: 254
Sales rank: 762,350
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.58(d)

About the Author

(1886-1945) An intense, imaginative, magnetic person,Charles Williams was a member of the Inklings, the group ofcreative Oxford Christians of the 1930s and 1940s thatincluded C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien. Though heexcelled in many literary genres, Williams is bestremembered for his poetry and his originalfiction—contemporary religious novels filled withsuspense, mystery, and supernatural conflict.

Table of Contents

I The Stone 7

II The Pupil of Organic Law 18

III The Tale of the End of Desire 38

IV Vision in the Stone 52

V The Loss of a Type 65

VI The Problem of Time 87

VII The Miracles at Rich 103

VIII The Conference 116

IX The Action of Lord Arglay 127

X The Appeal of the Mayor of Rich 144

XI The First Refusal of Chloe Burnett 159

XII National Transport 174

XIII The Refusal of Lord Arglay 189

XIV The Second Refusal of Chloe Burnett 209

XV The Possessiveness of Mr. Frank Lindsay 221

XVI The Discovery of Sir Giles Tumulty 235

XVII The Judgement of Lord Arglay 247

XVIII The Process of Organic Law 263

Customer Reviews