Manic Revelations

Manic Revelations

by Pokey LaFarge


View All Available Formats & Editions


At the end of Manic Revelations, Pokey LaFarge sings "I will never change" -- a sentiment that he's spent the entirety of his sixth studio set disproving. Ditching the old-timey routine that's been his stock in trade since 2008, LaFarge embraces the open-hearted soul of the '60s, a sound that's nearly as retro as the pre-WWII folk, country, and jazz that populated his earlier albums. The shift in sound was propelled by his outrage over the 2014 riots in Ferguson, Missouri, a suburb of his hometown of St. Louis. Tying this political unrest to the civil rights movement of the '60s, the musician decided a revival of classic soul was the best vehicle for his message. Manic Revelations does benefit from its hopping swing and full-blooded horn section, which gives the record a considerable kinetic kick. LaFarge's reedy voice can sometimes produce a wave of cognitive dissonance -- he's still singing like he's supporting himself with a banjo -- but there are also moments where the two aesthetics merge seamlessly. With its muted trumpet wails and spooky Cab Calloway shuffle, "Mother Nature" walks a fine line between prohibition and juke joint blues, while "Good Luck Charm" is a jaunty folk number punched up by the horn section. Such hybrids speak to LaFarge's musical invention, but don't forget that, at its heart, Manic Revelations is a protest album. He may evoke old sounds but all his songs are about the present, and that means Manic Revelations isn't a stylistic exercise: it's compelling commentary.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/19/2017
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0888072024304
catalogNumber: 610020
Rank: 54323

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pokey LaFarge   Primary Artist,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Dave Palmer   Piano
Matt Meyer   Percussion,Drums
David Beeman   Organ,Rhythm Guitar,Tambourine,Stylophone
Alec Spiegelman   Organ,Clarinet,Flute,Piano,Tuba,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Adam Hoskins   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vibes
Joey Glynn   Electric Bass,Background Vocals,Upright Bass
Ryan Koenig   Harmonica,Electric Guitar,Guitjo,Vocal Harmony
Kellie Everett   Tenor Saxophone
Luc Klein   Piano,Trumpet,Euphonium,Glockenspiel,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Will Godfred   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Chris Seefried   Composer
Tony Hoffer   Producer
Pokey LaFarge   Composer,Producer
Matt Meyer   Producer
David Beeman   Producer,Engineer
Alec Spiegelman   Producer
Adam Hoskins   Composer,Producer
Joey Glynn   Producer
Ben Majchrzak   Engineer
Ryan Koenig   Producer
Luc Klein   Composer,Producer
Will Godfred   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews