Mama's Gun [Bonus Track]

Mama's Gun [Bonus Track]

by Erykah Badu Erykah Badu


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 9


Since the arrival of Erykah Badu onto the neo-soul scene back in 1997 with Baduizm, commercial music stood up and took notice with an onslaught of similar artists reaching comparable peaks of mainstream success. After taking some time off for introspection and to raise her son, Badu returned with Mama's Gun, which is a turning point for her in many ways. Gone are the cryptic "Baduizms" that glossed all over her first release, replaced with a more honestly raw Badu singing directly from her heart rather than her head. Sonically, Badu wades out into adventurous territories as well. From the Jimi Hendrix-inspired opening number to the closing ten-minute song suite, she develops fresh aspects of her sound, employing artists such as legendary jazz vibraphonist Roy Ayers, jazz trumpeter Roy Hargrove, Stephen Marley, and Roots drummer ?uestlove; she sought after producer Jay Dee as well. The results are consistently tasteful, which only helps to prove once again that Badu is miles ahead of the rest. [A Japanese version added a bonus track.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/12/2001
Label: Universal Uk
UPC: 0044001393822
catalogNumber: 013938
Rank: 26096


  1. Intro
  2. Born to Love You
  3. Luv U Better
  4. Paradise
  5. Fa Ha
  6. Niggy Nuts
  7. Amazin'
  8. Clockin G's
  9. Lollipop
  10. After School
  11. Throw Ya l's Up
  12. U Should
  13. 10 Million Stars
  14. Mirror Mirror
  15. Big Mama (Unconditional Love)
  16. All I Have

Album Credits

Customer Reviews