by Dan Abnett


$14.00 View All Available Formats & Editions


Part two of the epic Eisenhorn trilogy returns

A century after his recovery of the alien Necroteuch, Gregor Eisenhorn is one of the Imperial Inquisition’s most celebrated agents. But when a face from his past returns to haunt him, and he is implicated in a great tragedy that devastates the world of Thracian Primaris, Eisenhorn’s universe crumbles around him. The daemon Cherubael is back, and seeks to bring the inquisitor to ruin – either by his death, or by turning him to the service of the Dark Gods.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781849709620
Publisher: Games Workshop
Publication date: 08/11/2015
Series: Eisenhorn Series
Pages: 416
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Dan Abnett is the author of the Horus Heresy novels The Unremembered Empire, Know No Fear and Prospero Burns, the last two of which were both New York Times bestsellers. He has written almost fifty novels, including the acclaimed Gaunt’s Ghosts series, and the Eisenhorn and Ravenor trilogies. He scripted Macragge’s Honour, the first Horus Heresy graphic novel, as well as numerous audio dramas and short stories set in the Warhammer 40,000 and Warhammer universes. He lives and works in Maidstone, Kent.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Malleus (Eisenhorn Series) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Magus_Manders on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is, more or less, exactly as it presents itself to be: a pulpy sci-fi fantasy about a guy with an impossibly cool outfit and a big gun. However, that does not mean that it's no good. Dan Abnett is perhaps most well known for his 'Gaunts Ghost' series of Warhammer 40000 novels, following a company of unusual Imperial soldiers with an even more unusual leader. With the Eisenhorn Trilogy, he takes a rather different route. Released nearly in tangent with the Games Workshop 'Inquisitor' game, the books follow the investigations of an Inquisitor Eisenhorn and his coterie as they uncover numerous plots of heresy and corruption within the Imperium. They are not fantastically written, but measure up to an author like Clive Cussler in both pacing and engrossment. Abnett makes his character's smart, but just enough that the reader can keep up with them, mixing both mystery and action in a read you just can't put down. Often, the protagonists will speak in a sort of improvised cipher, which can be fun to try and figure out. I'll be honest, after reading all three books in quick succession, I began to inadvertently drop words of this code into my own language, which may or may not have been a good thing. If you are already a fan of the Warhammer 40k Universe, these books give a great peek at the civilian workings of the Imperium of Man and showcase many different strange and frightening worlds. If you are not learned with the background material, they may be a little hard to follow at times. Luckily, it is more or less character driven, and every time one of them meets a fate worse than death, you'll be sorry to see them go.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am really enjoying the Eisenhorn series and this book is no exception. One thing I wasn't to pleased with was how quickly the book wraps up. Overall though its quite good, although I prefer the first book 'Xenos'. 'Hereticus' should be out anyday and I can hardly wait!