by Natalie ImbrugliaNatalie Imbruglia


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


Returning from an extended absence -- she hasn't made an album since 2009's Come to Life and hasn't seen a record released in the U.S. since 2001's White Lilies Island, which was the sequel to her 1997 blockbuster Left of the Middle; a long time gone, in other words -- Natalie Imbruglia lands upon an interesting concept for her comeback: take 12 songs written by male singer/songwriters and recast them as feminine. For Imbruglia, this means reviving the hazy focus of her global blockbuster "Torn," a feel created with soft, strummed guitars and clear vocals, a sound that suits a middle-aged singer as comfortably as it does a young one, perhaps even a touch better. Although Male shamelessly evokes Left of the Middle -- the cover itself looks like something of a sequel -- Imbruglia takes pains to show that she's listened to recent music. Not only are there covers of Daft Punk, Death Cab for Cutie, and Iron & Wine, but she grafts a Mumford & Sons folk-stomp onto the Cure's "Friday I'm in Love," then gently pushes Tom Petty's "The Waiting" toward a tapped folk rhythm. Everything is so sweet and light, it's difficult to discern whether Imbruglia's choice of songs is meant to convey something greater than that these are a bunch of nice tunes. Certainly, the concept of Male suggests there might be a conceptual undertow to the album -- Imbruglia finding the femininity in masculine writers -- but Imbruglia chooses songs where sexuality is incidental; these are love songs that are easily retooled for the opposite sex. This safety in song selection and production means that Male certainly doesn't have the bite of Tori Amos' 2001 album Strange Little Girls, a record that wears its sexual politics proudly, but Imbruglia has never been an ambitious artist: she's always been a sweet, pleasant crooner and Male plays to those very strengths.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/31/2015
Label: Imports
UPC: 0888750339522
catalogNumber: 033952
Rank: 113592


  1. Instant Crush
  2. Cannonball
  3. The Summer
  4. I Will Follow You Into the Dark
  5. Goodbye In His Eyes
  6. Friday I'm In Love
  7. Naked As We Came
  8. Let My Love Open the Door
  9. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
  10. I Melt With You
  11. The Waiting
  12. The Wind

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Natalie Imbruglia   Primary Artist
Jack Daley   Bass,Electric Bass
Gary Haase   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Jim Hoke   Flute,Woodwind
Daniel Sadownick   Percussion
Emily Saliers   Guitar,Background Vocals
Steve Wolf   Percussion,Drums
Jonathan Yudkin   Banjo,Mandolin,Ukulele,Lap Steel Guitar
Billy Mann   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Harmonica,Mandolin,Piano,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Melodica,Vibes,Wurlitzer,Guitar (String)
Mitchy Collins   Background Vocals
Christian Medice   Dulcimer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Melodica

Technical Credits

Tom Petty   Composer
Pete Townshend   Composer
Neil Young   Composer
Perry Bamonte   Composer
Simon Gallup   Composer
Jim Hoke   Arranger
Gary McDowell   Composer
Robert Smith   Composer
Boris Williams   Composer
Jonathan Yudkin   Arranger,Engineer
Billy Mann   Arranger,Producer
Michael Conroy   Composer
Richard Brown   Composer
Thomas Bangalter   Composer
Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo   Composer
Ben Gibbard   Composer
Julian Casablancas   Composer
Sam Beam   Composer
Damien Rice   Composer
Laura Kszan   Product Development
Jennifer Liebeskind   Product Development
Zac Brown   Composer
David Pettit   Engineer
Stephen Walker   Composer
Wyatt Durrette   Composer
Robert Grey   Composer
John Driskell Hopkins   Composer
Rob Dyson   Engineer
Tucker Bodine   Engineer
Christian Medice   Arranger,Engineer
Paul Thompson   Composer
Yusuf Islam   Composer
Joshua Pyke   Composer
Sonia Rolling   Composer

Customer Reviews