Mad Dogs & Okies

Mad Dogs & Okies

by Jamie Oldaker



Veteran session drummer Jamie Oldaker was born and raised in Tulsa, OK, and has a pronounced soft spot for the country, blues, and roots rock sounds of his home state. With that in mind, Oldaker assembled the album Mad Dogs & Okies as a tribute to Oklahoma's musical heritage (with an accompanying movie in the works), and thankfully he had the good sense to bring in some of his good friends and jamming buddies from over 30 years in the music business to help take the leads rather than doing it himself. Mad Dogs & Okies would be a cause for celebration if only for the fact it features an actual new song written and performed by the brilliant but reclusive Texas singer and songwriter Willis Alan Ramsey, and "Sympathy for a Train" is a slice of late-night blues that sounds like it could have been an outtake from Ramsey's superb 1972 album. But that's not all this album has going for it -- Taj Mahal shines on his two cuts (including a rollicking version of "Stagger Lee"), Vince Gill and Eric Clapton are in laid-back but emphatic form on numbers that outclass their most recent albums, J.J. Cale and Tony Joe White serve their legends well, and Ray Benson and Bonnie Bramlett sound like they're having a whole lot of fun on their selections. Mad Dogs & Okies sounds like an album that was made for the enjoyment of the musicians involved more than anything else (and Oldaker is essentially just a sideman on his own record), but the fun is infectious, and the cast lets loose with some fine sounds along the way -- it's a good guess that these sessions were a pretty great party, and Oldaker's musical snapshots of the proceedings are the next best thing to being there.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/30/2005
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0013431226727
catalogNumber: 2267

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jamie Oldaker   Primary Artist,Percussion,Drums
Taj Mahal   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Willie Nelson   Vocals
J.J. Cale   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Peter Frampton   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Steve Pryor Band   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Willis Alan Ramsey   Acoustic Guitar,Slide Guitar
Bonnie Bramlett   Vocals
Tony Joe White   Harmonica,Vocals,spanish guitar
Ray Benson   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Chuck Blackwell   Drums
Joe Bonamassa   Slide Guitar
Bekka Bramlett   Background Vocals
John Catchings   Cello
Eric Clapton   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Richard Feldman   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Ron Getman   Electric Guitar,Steel Guitar
Vince Gill   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Gary Gilmore   Bass
Jim Karstein   Percussion,Drums,Tambourine
Viktor Krauss   Acoustic Bass
Christine Lakeland   Acoustic Guitar
Jimmy Markham   Harmonica
Bob Mayo   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano
Bill Raffenspeger   Bass
John Regan   Bass
Walt Richmond   Organ,Piano,Clavinet
Dick Sims   Organ,fender rhodes
Martin Crutchfield   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Electric Guitar
Casey Van Beek   Bass Guitar
Fats Kaplin   Fiddle,Accordion
Shelby Eicher   Fiddle,Mandolin
Jim Byfield   Electric Guitar
Rocky Frisco   Organ
Wiley Hunt   Guitar,Vocals
John R. Ferguson   Electric Guitar
Brandon Colvin   Background Vocals
Ellen Feltsky   Vocals
Joe Feltsky   Acoustic Guitar
Jenny Gill   Background Vocals
Joslyn Keel   Background Vocals
Jeremy Kelsey   Background Vocals
Jimmy Lee Keltner   Drums
Latimer Street Quartet   Background Vocals
Dante Pope   Background Vocals
Royce Rice   Organ
David Spricher   Acoustic Bass
Don White   Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Taj Mahal   Composer
Willie Nelson   Composer
J.J. Cale   Composer
Peter Frampton   Composer
Lloyd Price   Composer
Steve Pryor Band   Composer
Willis Alan Ramsey   Composer
Leon Russell   Composer
Steve Winwood   Composer
Bonnie Bramlett   Composer
Tony Joe White   Composer
Ray Benson   Composer
David Chapman   Engineer
Eric Clapton   Composer
Bob DiPiero   Composer
Richard Feldman   Producer,Engineer
Vince Gill   Composer
Chad Hailey   Engineer
Chet Himes   Engineer
Roger Linn   Composer
Jamie Oldaker   Producer,Liner Notes,Art Direction
Walt Richmond   Composer,Producer,Engineer
David Teegarden   Producer,Engineer
Tom Weir   Engineer
Casey Van Beek   Composer
Harold Logan   Composer
Jim Byfield   Composer
Lisa M. Sutton   Art Direction
Paul T. Kwami   Direction
Wiley Hunt   Composer
Brando Marius   Engineer
Marcella and George   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews