Mad Decent, Vol. 1

Mad Decent, Vol. 1


$10.47 $10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.47, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Sometimes the planets align and a simple -- maybe even obligatory -- label sampler meets a label roster in their prime. Such is the case with the dryly titled, dryly presented Mad Decent, Vol. 1, a quick and very dirty overview of the loud, stuttering, sample-heavy, and dancehall-loving label founded by DJ/producer Diplo. Here, the big acts get the bookends as Diplo himself offers the opening highlight with the wicked trunk-rumbler "Horsey." Bringing up the back end is the shockingly normal and still shockingly good reggae number "Keep It Going Louder" from Nina Sky and Diplo with his Major Lazer project. The meat of this Mad Decent sandwich is all over the place when it comes to flavor, but all the tracks share the label's mash-up/spice-up aesthetic. Kito and Reija Lee offer the sound of a Galaga machine playing dubstep while Bosco Delrey turns out to be a New Jersey kid who enjoys playing impossible Madchester music at breakneck speed. Toy Selectah trades in accordion-based Mexican house music that puts hands in the air, Boy 8-Bit is like your early Depeche Mode vinyl warping in the sun, while Munchi nails the very 2011 sound of Moombahton with his half-speed, simmering stunner. Add the audience-pleasing style of DJ Rusko, Diplo getting ridiculous with Blaqstarr, and South Rakkas Crew introducing rap-rock-reggae-step to the world and Mad Decent, Vol. 1 is a keeper, sure to send all forward-thinking DJs and kinetic electronica fans further into the label's catalog.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/2011
Label: Mad Decent
UPC: 0891063002793
catalogNumber: 279
Rank: 157112

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Derek Allen   Composer
David James   Composer
Richard Kelly   Composer
Diplo   Liner Notes
Natalie Albino   Composer
Nicole Albino   Composer
Alex Greggs   Composer
J. Adams   Composer
Christopher Mercer   Composer
David Morris   Composer
Ferry Gouw   Layout
Thomas Wesley Pentz   Composer
Claydes Smith   Composer
Dillon Francis   Composer
Andrew Taylor   Composer
Dennis Shaw   Composer
Reija Lee Thomas   Composer
Rayiv Munchi   Composer
Natalie Yepez   Composer
Dexter Tortoriello   Composer
Steve Orenstein   Composer
Robin Carlsson   Composer
Paul Devereux   Composer
Carl Lof   Composer
Benedikt Wiessmeier   Composer
Zeb Malik   Composer
Ricardo Lloyd Johnson   Composer
Mans Glaser   Composer
Maaike Kito Lebbing   Composer
Isaza-Arguirre Pedro Nel   Composer
Hugo Passaquin   Composer

Customer Reviews