CD(Special Edition / Digi-Pak)

$15.69 $15.99 Save 2% Current price is $15.69, Original price is $15.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The average MacGruber sketch on Saturday Night Live only lasts a couple of minutes, while the big-screen adaptation is over 40 times longer than that -- all the more time to fill with well-chosen music. MacGruber's soundtrack stays mostly faithful to the sketch's lovingly absurd send-up of the '80s favorite resourceful secret agent MacGyver, serving up a platter of some of the decade's finest cheese. Gerry Rafferty's slippery smooth "Baker Street," Mr. Mister's painfully earnest "Broken Wings," and Robbie Dupree's irrepressible "Steal Away" are some of the standouts, along with Eddie Money's "Take Me Home Tonight" and Toto's "Rosanna." The songs that aren't from the '80s work nearly as well, particularly the Hives' "Tick Tick Boom," which is, surprisingly enough, the only bomb-themed track here. And of course, Will Forte and Kristen Wiig contribute songs as well, with Forte's Cornbread Compton providing "MacGruber's Theme" and Wiig, who plays MacGruber's puffy-haired assistant Vicki St. Elmo, sings three songs, including "Rock My Body," which features Forte as MacGruber, and "Champion," a power ballad that channels '80s ladies such as Pat Benatar and Laura Brannigan. Though the concept behind MacGruber is slight -- or simple, depending on your point of view -- the way it's carried out in its soundtrack is enjoyable both on its own and as a part of the movie.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/25/2010
Label: Relativity Music Grp
UPC: 0854727002126
catalogNumber: 700212
Rank: 122220

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Michael Bolton   Composer
Robbie Dupree   Composer
Gerry Rafferty   Composer
Keith Emerson   Composer
Greg Lake   Composer
Andy Goldmark   Composer
Katreese Barnes   Composer
Rick Chudacoff   Composer
Steve George   Composer
David Paich   Composer
Peter Vale   Composer
Michael Leeson   Composer
Brad Caulkins   Instrumentation
Justin Bailey   Instrumentation
Randy Fitzsimmons   Composer
Patrick Carney   Composer
Dan Auerbach   Composer
Jason Markey   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Mark Lane   Composer
Matthew Compton   Composer
Paloma Udovic   Instrumentation
Jorma Taccone   Composer,Executive Soundtrack Producer
Lewis Pesacov   Instrumentation
Ryan Kavanaugh   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Asa Taccone   Instrumentation
Richard James Page   Composer
John Ross Lang   Composer
Nathan William Heller   Composer
Marvin Webster Ross   Composer
John Solomon   Composer,Executive Soundtrack Producer
Will Forte   Composer,Executive Soundtrack Producer

Customer Reviews