Lyfe Change [CD/DVD]

Lyfe Change [CD/DVD]

by Lyfe Jennings
3 New & Used Starting at $4.11


Lyfe Jennings' third album doesn't involve all that much change, at least not on the surface. He does do a little less of the heavy lifting, seeking out some assistance from the Underdogs, Wyclef Jean, and a couple other associates from his Jesus Swings production house, but Lyfe Change is still very much a Lyfe Jennings album -- it's not as if his label directed him away from what came natural throughout 2004's Lyfe 268-192 and 2006's The Phoenix. He continues to spin real-life tales and handle serious issues, as on the skeletal but seductive "It's Real" (where his attraction to a woman shifts from heated to cautionary), the Bob Marley-referencing "Wild, Wild, Wild" (the Wyclef collaboration, about losing your way as the exchange for the seeking of fame), and "Never Never Land" (where he sings of settling down and growing up in every sense, closing with "30 is not the new 20/It's the same old 30"). A couple cuts are lighthearted compared to what's expected from him, and a couple beats are uncharacteristically uptempo, but for the most part, this is another solid Jennings album. Nothing fancy, nothing outrageous -- just humbled, wise, thoughtful modern soul. [Some copies of the album came with a bonus DVD.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/29/2008
Label: Sony
UPC: 0886971562323
catalogNumber: 715623


Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lyfe Jennings   Primary Artist,Vocals,Band
Snoop Dogg   Guest Appearance
Adam Block   Guitar
Debra Killings   Bass
Wyclef Jean   Guest Appearance
Tomi Martin   Guitar
Ricardo Ramos   Band
Gasner "Gaz" Hughes   Keyboards
Rhemario Webber   Keyboards,Band
T.I.   Guest Appearance
Arden Altino   Keyboards,Vocoder
Nate Jones   Bass,Band
Donnie "D Major" Boynton   Keyboards
James Fauntleroy   Background Vocals
Yolanda DeBerry   Background Vocals
Mike DeSalvo   Horn
Luke Boyd   Vocals
Dave Clauss   Horn
Walter Burch   Track Performer
Jason "J Nyse" Cousins   Background Vocals,Band
Ronley Ellis   Band
Wynetta Ellis   Vocals,Band
Dominic Gallucci   Guitar
Shenita Golder   Background Vocals
James Lewis   Guitar
Crystal Martin   Drums
"Pretty Boi" Tony Martinez   Vocals
Terrell "Trex" Simon   Vocals,Background Vocals,Band
Quinten "Q" Spears   Vocals

Technical Credits

Rich Keller   Producer,Engineer
Wyclef Jean   Producer
Jerry "Wonda" Duplessis   Producer
Andrew Hey   Engineer
Dabling Harward   Engineer
Lamont "Logic" Coleman   Producer
Joy Bounds   Executive Producer
Lyfe Jennings   Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer
Mike Tschupp   Engineer
Aaron Renner   Engineer,drum programming
Wyatt Oates   Engineer
Riley Mackin   Engineer
Dave Clauss   Engineer
Underdogs   Producer
Steve Russell   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews