Lydia Lunch: The War Is Never Over: A Companion To The Film By Beth B

Lydia Lunch: The War Is Never Over: A Companion To The Film By Beth B

by Nick Soulsby


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


Before #MeToo, before Riot Grrl, there was Lydia Lunch. A central figure in the No Wave scene of the seventies—as founder of the seminal Teenage Jesus & The Jerks—Lunch has pursued a four-decade-long career turning the substance of her life into unapologetic, stark, and beautiful art.

From the eighties onward, Lunch became a lone voice publicly calling out the patriarchal aggression and day-to-day violence enacted by the powerful—and never gave a good goddamn whether you wanted to hear it or not. Refusing to be silenced, she took to stages the world over, fearlessly speaking the truth, whether of her own life with its legacy of parental abuse, her wild times owning the streets of New York City, or the world she saw around her.

Seeing no boundaries between creative mediums, Lydia has enacted her vision through music, spoken word, film, theatre, and more. Released as an accompaniment to Beth B’s new documentary The War Is Never Over, this book is the first comprehensive overview of Lunch’s creative campaign of resistance, a celebration of pleasure as the ultimate act of rebellion.

Across these pages, Lunch and her numerous collaborators—including Thurston Moore, Jim Sclavunos, Kid Congo Powers, Bob Bert, Richard Kern, Nick Zedd, and Vivienne Dick—recount life at the front line of the musical extremes of the seventies and eighties underground, the wild times, the disciplined productivity, life lived as a defender of the voiceless, and an unapologetic force of righteous fury.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781911036456
Publisher: Outline Press, Limited
Publication date: 05/19/2020
Pages: 296
Sales rank: 716,808
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Nick Soulsby is the author of Swans: Sacrifice And Transcendence (2018), Thurston Moore: We Sing A New Language (2017), Cobain On Cobain: Interviews & Encounters (2016), I Found My Friends: The Oral History Of Nirvana (2015), and Dark Slivers: Seeing Nirvana In The Shards Of Incesticide (2012). In 2014 he curated the compilation No Seattle: Forgotten Sounds Of The North West Grunge Era 1986–1997 with Soul Jazz Records, and he also wrote the oral history of the band Fire Ants for the reissue of their 1993 EP Stripped.

Table of Contents

Introduction 5

Prologue: Baby Doll 16

1 Freud in Flop 22

2 Teenage Jesus 41

3 Girls on Film 56

4 Beirut Slump 65

5 Queen of Siam 73

6 8 Eyed Spy 80

7 Devil Dogs 87

8 13.13 90

9 London Agony/Berlin Ecstasy 96

10 In Limbo 114

11 The Right Side of My Brain 125

12 Fingered 133

13 The Word 139

14 South of Your Border 149

15 Harry Crews 157

16 Our Fathers Who Arent in Heaven 160

17 Shotgun Wedding 169

18 Matrikamantra 177

19 The Anubian Lights 188

20 Universal Infiltrator 196

21 Big Sexy Noise 217

22 Nemesisters: Medusa's Bed and Sister Assassin 224

23 Retrovirus 236

24 Cypress Grove 242

25 Covens and Catastrophes 249

26 My Lover the Killer 261

Epilogue: The War Is Never Over 269

Contributors 274

Selected Works 286

Chronology 289

Beth B Filmography 295

Customer Reviews