Lovely Creatures: The Best of Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, 1984-2014 [Deluxe 3-CD & DVD

Lovely Creatures: The Best of Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, 1984-2014 [Deluxe 3-CD & DVD

by Nick Cave & the Bad SeedsNick Cave & the Bad Seeds

CD(Bonus DVD)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Nick Cave is a singular figure in contemporary rock music; he first emerged as punk rock was making its presence known in Australia, but though he's never surrendered his status as a provocateur and a musical outlaw, he quickly abandoned the simplicity of punk for something grander and more literate, though no less punishing in its outlook. Cave also had an approach to collaboration that made his backing band, the Bad Seeds, an integral part of his creative vision, even as their membership changed and their sound evolved over the space of three decades of fury and eloquence. In Kirk Lake's liner notes to Lovely Creatures: The Best of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, 1984-2014, he celebrates the band as much as their charismatic leader and songwriter, and the 45 songs collected on this three-disc set make the case that while Cave may be the frontman -- and a profoundly charismatic one with a powerful voice that can communicate from a whisper to a scream -- his musicians bring a color, shape, and texture to his songs that focus and amplify his gifts as a singer and lyricist. While 1998's The Best of Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds is a fine one-disc overview of Cave's body of work, this is by any standard a superior collection. The depth and detail of Cave's songs lend themselves to a larger anthology, and this was compiled from an additional 16 years' worth of music, much of it excellent, including tracks from 2004's Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus and 2014's Push the Sky Away. And the package also comes with a bonus DVD featuring television appearances, live performances, and interviews that document Cave & the Bad Seeds' forceful brilliance on-stage. Lovely Creatures is a superior introduction to Cave's post-Birthday Party work, and while the lack of unreleased material might make it superfluous for serious fans, this remains a splendid summation of the work of a major artist who continues to create deeply personal, profoundly moving music.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/05/2017
Label: Mute U.S.
UPC: 0075597941449
catalogNumber: 94144


Disc 1

  1. From Her to Eternity
  2. In the Ghetto
  3. Tupelo
  4. I'm Gonna Kill That Woman
  5. The Carny
  6. Sad Waters
  7. Stranger Than Kindness
  8. Scum
  9. The Mercy Seat
  10. Deanna
  11. Up Jumped The Devil
  12. The Weeping Song
  13. The Ship Song
  14. Papa Won’t Leave You, Henry
  15. Straight to You

Disc 2

  1. Do You Love Me?
  2. Nobody's Baby Now
  3. Loverman
  4. Red Right Hand
  5. Stagger Lee
  6. Where the Wild Roses Grow
  7. Into My Arms
  8. People Ain't No Good
  9. Brompton Oratory
  10. (Are You) The One That I've Been Waiting For?
  11. Come Into My Sleep
  12. Love Letter
  13. God Is In the House
  14. He Wants You
  15. Shoot Me Down

Disc 3

  1. Hiding All Away
  2. There She Goes, My Beautiful World
  3. Nature Boy
  4. Breathless
  5. Babe, You Turn Me On
  6. O Children
  7. Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!
  8. Night of the Lotus Eaters
  9. We Call Upon the Author
  10. Jesus of the Moon
  11. More News From Nowhere
  12. We No Who U R
  13. Jubilee Street
  14. Higgs Boson Blues
  15. Push the Sky Away

Disc 4

  1. Interview, ‘Kippevel’, Netherlands, 1988
  2. Night of the Lotus Eaters, Docks de Suds, Marseilles, France 2008
  3. Red Right Hand, Glastonbury Festival, UK, 1988
  4. The Weeping Song, ‘Boxed Set’, Glasgow STV Studios, UK, 2001
  5. Interview, New York, USA, 2013
  6. Higgs Boson Blues, La Fabrique Studios, France 2012
  7. Interview, ‘Stranger in a Strange Land’ Documentary, Berlin, Germany, 1
  8. From Her To Eternity, Perkins Palace, Pasadena, USA, 1984
  9. Love Letter, ABC Studios, Australia, 2001
  10. Interview, ‘Bish’s Biz’, Australia, 2013
  11. Do You Love Me? ‘Boxed Set’, Glasgow, STV Studios, UK, 2001
  12. Interview, ‘Boxed Set’, Glasgow STV Studios, UK, 2001
  13. Into My Arms, INmusic Festival, Zagreb, Croatia, 2008
  14. We Call Upon The Author, B1 Maxi-mum Club, Moscow, Russia, 2009
  15. Interview, Ein Abend in Wien, Rotterdam, Netherlands, 1991
  16. The Mercy Seat, Bizarre Festival, Germany, 1996
  17. Interview, Columbus, Ohio, USA, 1984
  18. God Is In The House, ‘Later With Jools Holland’, London, 2001
  19. Interview, ’Bish’s Biz’, Australia, 2013
  20. Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!, Globe Annexet, Stockholm, Sweden, 2008
  21. Brompton Oratory, ‘MTV Live n Loud’, 1997
  22. I’m Gonna Kill That Woman, Posthof, Linz, Austria, 1986
  23. Jubilee Street, The Fonda Theatre, LA, USA, 2013
  24. The Ship Song, Live at Paradiso DVD, Amsterdam, Netherlands, 1992
  25. Interview, Lollapalooza, USA, 1994
  26. Loverman, Bizarre Festival, Germany, 1996
  27. Interview, Australia, 1988
  28. In The Ghetto, Exit, Chicago, USA, 1984
  29. Hiding All Away, ‘The Abattoir Blues Tour DVD’, Brixton Academy, London
  30. Interview, Australia, 1992
  31. Where the Wild Roses Grow, ‘MTV Most Wanted’, London, UK, 1995
  32. Deanna, St Luke’s, London, UK, 2008
  33. O Children, Le Trianon, Paris, France, 2013
  34. Interview, Festival Crazy Rock, Chile, 1996
  35. Stagger Lee, The White Room, London, UK, 1996
  36. Interview, Austin City Limits, Austin, Texas, USA, 2014
  37. Interview, Australia, 1995
  38. Push The Sky Away, The Fonda Theatre, LA, USA, 2013
  39. There She Goes, My Beautiful World, ‘The Abattoir Blues Tour DVD’, Brix

Album Credits

Customer Reviews