Love Me

Love Me

by Tomas BarfodTomas Barfod


$15.55 $15.99 Save 3% Current price is $15.55, Original price is $15.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Tomas Barfod's sophomore solo album, 2014's Love Me, is an atmospheric, introspective work much in the same vein as his 2012 debut, Salton Sea. Starting out as a percussionist, Barfod has built a varied career experimenting across genres as a DJ, producer, and drummer with his trio WhoMadeWho featuring guitarist Jeppe Kjellberg and bassist Tomas Høffding (both of whom appear on Love Me). Given his eclectic résumé, it should come as no surprise that Love Me, while being a primarily electronic endeavor, retains a deeply organic aesthetic. Just as with Salton Sea, one would be hard-pressed to call Barfod's recordings dance music, although he is certainly informed by club, rave, and EDM aesthetics. At his core, Barfod is a drummer and even when he is at his most ruminative, which is most of the time on Love Me, he retains a drummer's sense of groove. To these ends, the exotic "Honey," featuring vocals by Sleep Party People, and "Blue Matter," with Kjellberg, are pulsing, layered, even somewhat ominous-sounding cuts. Elsewhere, Barfod is joined by singers Luke Temple and Nina Kinert for a handful of moody, cinematic cuts, including the epic "Bell House," the '80s new wave-sounding "Busy Baby," and the languid, orchestral-tinged "Aftermath." Also interesting are the two instrumental tracks, "Destiny's Child" and "Mandalay," which bring to mind the '70s and '80s synthesizer compositions of artists like Laurie Spiegel and Giorgio Moroder. Ultimately, with Love Me, Barfod has crafted an album of highly engaging, emotionally resonant pop music that's as creatively rewarding as it is accessible.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/10/2014
Label: Secretly Canadian
UPC: 0656605030821
catalogNumber: 50308
Rank: 144168

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tomas Barfod   Primary Artist
Luke Temple   Vocals
Anders Banke   Horn
Nina Kinert   Vocals
Davide Rossi   Strings
Jeppe Kjellberg   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Tomas Hoffding   Synthesizer
Brian Batz   Vocals
Winston Yellen   Vocals
Jared Pellerin   Vocals

Technical Credits

Luke Temple   Composer
Tomas Barfod   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Nina Kinert   Composer
Davide Rossi   String Arrangements
Jeppe Kjellberg   Arranger,Composer,Instrumentation
Tomas Hoffding   Arranger,Composer
Thomas A.   Cover Photo
Brian Batz   Composer
Winston Yellen   Composer
Lasse Høgh   Layout
Jared Pellerin   Composer

Customer Reviews