10 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Lounge-A-Palooza combines several of the most irritating trends in '90s alternative rock in one convenient package. There's the kitschy cocktail revival, the smug humor of smirk-rock, and the pounding guitars of grunge. It's a collection that combines alt-rock covers by MOR pop bands -- like Steve Lawrence & Eydie Gorme singing Soundgarden's "Black Hole Sun" -- and alt-rock bands doing classic pop songs, like Combustible Edison on Esquivel's "Miniskirt." For anyone who balks at camp or hipster humor, such pairings make Lounge-A-Palooza nearly intolerable, but there are some good things among the smirks. PJ Harvey and Eric Drew Feldman's "Zaz Turned Blue," Edwyn Collins' "Witchcraft," Cassandra Wilson's "The Good Life," Poe's cover of her brother's "A Rose Is a Rose," Pizzicato Five's "The Girl From Ipanema," Ben Folds Five's cover of the Flaming Lips' "She Don't Use Jelly," and "Wichita Lineman" by Michelle Shocked, Freddy Fender, Sheila E., and the Texas Tornadoes balance the dreck by Fastball, Fun Lovin' Criminals, and Chris Ballew of the Presidents of the United States of America. So, it's a mixed bag, but those with patience may find some worthwhile items.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/07/1997
Label: Hollywood Records
UPC: 0720616207227
catalogNumber: 162072

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Glen Campbell   Vocals,Track Performer
Eydie Gorme   Vocals
Doug Sahm   Guitar
Michelle Shocked   Vocals,Track Performer
Texas Tornados   Track Performer
Lonnie Plaxico   Bass
Marc Ribot   Guitar
Little Jimmy Scott   Vocals,Track Performer
Cassandra Wilson   Vocals,Track Performer
Augie Meyers   Organ
PJ Harvey   Vocals,Track Performer
Steve Lawrence   Vocals
Esquivel   Track Performer
Edwyn Collins   Organ,Bass,Guitar,Vocals,Multi Instruments,Track Performer,solina
Pizzicato Five   Track Performer
Chris Lord-Alge   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Alfredo Alias   Drums
Miss Lily Banquette   Bongos,Vocals
Kim Bullard   Mellotron
John Catchings   Strings,Group
Brother Cleve   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Todd Collins   Percussion
Nicholas Cudahy   Vocals,Multi Instruments,Upright Bass
David Davidson   Strings,Group
Chuck Domanico   Bass
Sheila E.   Drums
Eric Drew Feldman   Synthesizer,Bass,Keyboards,Multi Instruments,Track Performer
Freddy Fender   Vocals
Steve Ferris   Guitar
Flaco Jiménez   Accordion
Flea   Bass,Track Performer
Bob Glaub   Bass
Daniel Greco   Percussion
Laurie Hall   Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Jeff Haynes   Percussion
James Taylor   Hammond Organ
Peter Kent   Concert Master
Randy Kerber   Piano
Joe La Barbera   Drums
Warren Luening   Trumpet
John Lurie   Harmonica,Alto Saxophone
Shaun McWilliams   Percussion
John Medeski   Organ,Piano,Hammond Organ
Michael Cudahy   Guitar,Vocals
John Mark Painter   Percussion,Horn,Background Vocals,Double Bass
Anthony Michael Peterson   Guitar
Bennett Salvay   Conductor,Keyboards
Marvin Sewell   Guitar,Vocals
Kristin Wilkinson   Strings,Group
James Taylor Quartet   Track Performer
Cameron Stone   Cello
Annie King   Trumpet
Fun Lovin' Criminals   Track Performer
Ben Folds   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Poe   Vocals,Track Performer
Chris Ballew   Drums,Vocals,Track Performer
Fastball   Track Performer
John Wilmott   Flute,Saxophone
Steve Lawrence & Eydie Gorme   Track Performer
David Carpenter   Bass
Konishi Yasuharu   Conductor
Miles Zuniga   Guitar,Vocals
Carla Kihlstedt   Violin
Seb Lewsley   scratching,SH-101
Maki Nomiya   Vocals
Fleming McWilliams   Background Vocals
Tony Scalzo   Bass,Vocals
Joey Shuffield   Drums
Robert Sledge   Bass,Vocals
Neal Robinson   Drums
Calvin Weston   Drums
Gary Crockett   Bass
Graham Day   Guitar
Acacia Ludwig   Background Vocals
Andres Najera   Saxophone
Darren Jessee   Drums,Vocals
Ben Folds Five   Track Performer
Dominic Glover   Trumpet
Lisa Fay   Guitar
Peter Dixon   Synthesizer,Vocals
Teddy Andreadis   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Cassandra Wilson   Producer
Mariachi Sol de Mexico   Contributor,Mariachi Orchestra
Edwyn Collins   Producer
Tim Boyle   Engineer
Brother Cleve   Producer
Eric Drew Feldman   Arranger,Programming,Sound Effects,Producer
Flea   Producer
Norman Gimbel   Composer
Jose Hernandez   Orchestration,Mariachi Arrangement
James Taylor   Producer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Phil Kaffel   Engineer
Tim Latham   Engineer
John Lurie   Producer
John Mark Painter   Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements
John Parish   Engineer
Julian Raymond   Producer
Bennett Salvay   Arranger
David Schiffman   Engineer
Matt Sorum   Producer
David Weiss   Composer
Combustible Edison   Producer
Fun Lovin' Criminals   Producer
Ben Folds   Producer,Engineer
Chris Ballew   Producer,Engineer
Fastball   Producer
Tom Doty   Engineer
Jim Mitchell   Engineer
Konishi Yasuharu   Arranger,Producer
Sean Carberry   Engineer
Seb Lewsley   Programming,Engineer
Fleming McWilliams   Contributor
Yukihiro Fukutomi   Programming
Mike Fasano   Contributor,Drum Technician
Annette Fradera   Engineer
Bill Forman   Executive Producer
Paul Dicato   Engineer
Hirose Osamu   Engineer
David Konjoyan   Executive Producer
Mark Z. Danielewski   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews