Lost Souls: FOUND! Inspiring Stories About Northern-Breed Dogs

Lost Souls: FOUND! Inspiring Stories About Northern-Breed Dogs

by Kyla Duffy, Lowrey Mumford

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Lost Souls: FOUND! Inspiring Stories About Northern-Breed Dogs is a heartwarming, thought-provoking compilation of more than 50 true stories that address the cruelty of animal neglect and abuse and the joy rescued dogs bring to their new homes. This book is a must-read for fans of Akitas, Huskies, Malamutes, and Samoyeds! The book is perfect for those looking to bring a dog into their lives, too, as it is a great way to learn about life with these breeds. A SIGNIFICANT PORTION OF PROCEEDS FROM EVERY SALE IS DONATED BACK TO RESCUE GROUPS.

Excerpt: "With three Akitas, a dogsled, and a custom canvas tent, my addiction to mushing was complete. Traveling with the dogs in winter was great: no bears, no bugs, no snakes, no people, and the entire world was our refrigerator! The hundreds of miles I journeyed in those years with my three furry companions made me see them differently. Their determination, trust, and unbelievable strength and spirit became clear, and I started to deeply understand their needs. Together we learned how to work with each other, and in the process, we became a close-knit team. Koji lived until age 14 and pulled like a maniac until he was 12. That 100-pound hunk of muscle, fur, and heart taught me more about myself than I ever imagined a dog could." - Chuck Weiss

Product Details

BN ID: 2940015765106
Publisher: Happy Tails Books
Publication date: 06/15/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 144
File size: 468 KB

About the Author

Kyla Duffy (BS,BA,MPS) is the president of Happy Tails Books, an organization she founded to raise awareness and funding for animal welfare organizations, including dog rescues and cat rescues.

Kyla became passionate about animal welfare after serving as an emergency foster for a Boston Terrier with kennel cough. That was in 2009. Since then, she and her husband have adopted two Boston Terriers and fostered more than 50. Kyla enjoys rehabilitating the tough cases, helping them to build muscle and confidence on long hikes through the beautiful Colorado Front Range.

Kyla is also the founder of Up For Pups, a non-profit organization that helps rescue organizations save as many lives as possible by providing free educational materials and guidance. http://upforpups.org

See all Happy Tails Books has to offer at http://happytailsbooks.com.

Customer Reviews