Lost Girls

Lost Girls

by Graham Wilson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


Four passports are found of girls who vanished in Australia. The girl who found them has disappeared too. Who are these girls? Where have they gone?

A diary and search in Australia and across the world give tiny glimpses and fragments, but their stories remain elusive. The police search, friends and families search and grieve in alternate measure, but five girls remain gone, their fate unknown.

Anne is wracked by guilt at her failure to save her friend, Susan, who vanished one night soon after her release from jail. The evidence suggests she has returned to the place where she and her lover parted, she chose him and the crocodiles over life. She was in advanced pregnancy with twins and so three people are gone.

Anne has her friend's story, her voice on a tape is the last fragment left to her of a vanished existence. She must tell this story so that the world can know of this lovely brave girl who seems forever lost. And the families of the other four girls want their stories told too. She has the man's diary, which tells parts, but there is much that makes no sense. It reveals another shadowy girl who may have gone too.

She travels to the places from where they have come and were last seen in search of answers. She faithfully records each story, five or even six lost girls, each girl gone, nobody knows where. As she searches patterns emerge which help to explain the why and some of the how, but not where they are now. Almost certainly some are dead, but could some still survive..

She is determined not to surrender all hope that at least one or two may yet be found alive. After a year nothing has been found. She must put it behind her and try to get on with her own life, but guilt and hope keep driving her on, searching still.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781548704209
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 07/07/2017
Series: Crocodile Spirit Dreaming , #4
Pages: 268
Product dimensions: 5.98(w) x 9.02(h) x 0.61(d)

About the Author

Graham Wilson lives in Sydney Australia. He has completed and published nine separate books, and also a range of combined novel box sets.

They comprise two series,
1. The Old Balmain House Series - three novels
2 The Crocodile Spirit Dreaming Series - five novels along with a family memoir, Children of Arnhem's Kaleidoscope

The Old Balmain House Series starts with the novel, Little Lost Girl. Here a photo was discovered of a small girl who lived and died about 100 years ago. The second novel in this series, Lizzie's Tale, is the story of a working class teenage girl. It tells of how, pregnant, she is determined not to let her baby be adopted. The third novel, Devil's Choice, is about an awful choice to save the life of her daughter, inflicted with an incurable disease.

The Crocodile Spirit Dreaming Series is based in Outback Australia. It tells the story of an English backpacker, Susan, who visits the Northern Territory and becomes captivated and in great danger from a man who loves crocodiles. The second book, Creature of an Ancient Dreaming, follows the consequences of the discovery of this man's remains and Susan, being placed on trial for murder. The third book, The Empty Place, is about Susan's struggle to retain her sanity in jail while her family and friends desperately try to find out what really happened on that fateful day before it is too late. The final book in the series, Sunlit Shadow Dance is the story of a girl who appears in a remote aboriginal community in North Queensland, without any memory except for her name and how she rebuilds her life from the fragments of the past.

The book, Children of Arnhem's Kaleidoscope, is the story of the author's life in the Northern Territory: his childhood in an aboriginal community in remote Arnhem Land, in Australia's Northern Territory, of the people, danger and beauty of this place, and of its transformation over the last half century with the coming of aboriginal rights and the discovery or uranium. It also tells of his surviving an attack by a large crocodile and of his work over two decades in the outback of the NT.

In his other life Graham is a veterinarian who works in wildlife conservation and for rural landholders. He lived a large part of his life in the Northern Territory and his books reflect this experience.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lost Girls 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is book 2 of a series. I think you need to read book one to make sense of book 2. I did not like the writing style. This book is very choppy and does not make a lot of sense. It is about a pregnant, abused woman with a split personality. There is a lot of sex. There is a large cast of characters. It did not hold my interest. I found it rather boring and over long for the type of book it is. For adults. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story just gets better with each new book . You must read them all in order that they were written .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Exceptional sequel, how many more layers has this story got. I see the next book in this series now has has a pre-order version up and will put my order in.
MauraT More than 1 year ago
Continues a great story line. A bit complex and hard to follow in a couple places but overall an excellent book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An awesome series, I have read and enjoyed every chapter. Good enough that I read non stop for an entire weekend. Kudos to the author.