Lost Dogs & Mixed Blessings

Lost Dogs & Mixed Blessings

by John PrineJohn Prine


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 23


John Prine's follow-up to his comeback album, The Missing Years, is more of the same in terms of freeing up Prine's idiosyncratic muse and marrying the result to Howie Epstein's top-flight production sound. Fans of the early Prine may find that sound over-produced, but the songs never get lost, and with Prine's typically humorous, off-center view of the world (song titles include "Humidity Built the Snowman" and "He Forgot That It Was Sunday"), it's the songs that count. Actually, this is not quite as strong a collection of material as The Missing Years, but it has its moments, and Prine and Epstein show it off in its best possible light.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/04/1995
Label: Oh Boy
UPC: 0094012001322
catalogNumber: 120013
Rank: 22253


  1. New Train
  2. Ain't Hurtin' Nobody
  3. All the Way with You
  4. We Are the Lonely
  5. Lake Marie
  6. Humidity Built the Snowman
  7. Day Is Done
  8. Quit Hollerin' at Me
  9. Big Fat Love
  10. Same Thing Happened to Me
  11. This Love Is Real
  12. Leave the Lights On
  13. He Forgot That It Was Sunday
  14. I Love You So Much It Hurts

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Prine   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Marianne Faithfull   Background Vocals
John Jorgenson   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Doug Hamblin   Background Vocals
Benmont Tench   Multi Instruments
Pattie Brooks   Background Vocals
Howie Epstein   Background Vocals,Multi Instruments
Bob Glaub   Bass
John Hobbs   Piano
JayDee Mannes   Pedal Steel Guitar
Gary Nicholson   Multi Instruments
Phil Parlapiano   Multi Instruments
Joe Romersa   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Vince Santoro   Percussion
Waddy Wachtel   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Gary Riley   Hurdy-Gurdy
Rock Deadrick   Percussion,Drums
Carol Leffler   Background Vocals
Johnnie Fiori   Background Vocals
Sarah Taylor   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Peter Yarrow   Composer
Bunetta   Executive Producer
John Callahan   Cover Art
Dan Einstein   Executive Producer
Howie Epstein   Producer
Joe Romersa   Engineer
Micajah Ryan   Engineer
Martin Horenburg   Engineer
Gary Riley   Contributor

Customer Reviews