Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Long Black Train

Long Black Train

by Josh Turner Josh Turner
Long Black Train

Long Black Train

by Josh Turner Josh Turner


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 6


The centerpiece of this debut album by South Carolina native Josh Turner is its lead track, the traditional-sounding "Long Black Train," which could be a country gospel song out of the 1940s. Penned by Turner, the song rolls death, temptation, and redemption into the metaphor of a funeral train, and sung in Turner's deep voice, it rolls across country radio like nothing else on the scene, the ominous breath of hellfire in the lyrics conjuring up the ghost of Johnny Cash. It is also a hard act to follow, and although there are some strong songs here, nothing else on this record comes up to the level of "Long Black Train." Turner has a deep, commanding voice full of a kind of intimate sadness, and that alone carries songs like "She'll Go on You," setting them apart from what passes for Nashville sincerity these days, but there is simply too much filler here, and with "Long Black Train" as the lead cut, everything else seems like a long breath being exhaled.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/14/2003
Label: Mca
UPC: 0008817029122
catalogNumber: 000097402
Rank: 35598


  1. Long Black Train
  2. In My Dreams
  3. What It Ain't
  4. I Had One One Time
  5. Jacksonville
  6. Backwoods Boy
  7. Unburn All Our Bridges
  8. You Don't Mess Around With Jim
  9. She'll Go on You
  10. Good Woman Bad
  11. The Difference Between a Woman and a Man

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Josh Turner   Primary Artist
Pat McLaughlin   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Eric Darken   Percussion,Vibes
John Wesley Ryles   Background Vocals
Shannon Forrest   Drums
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Carl Gorodetzky   Strings
Kevin Grantt   Bass,Bass Guitar
Steve Hinson   Dobro,Steel Guitar
Liana Manis   Background Vocals
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Nashville String Machine   Strings
Steve Nathan   Piano
Brent Rowan   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,6-string bass,Guitar (Baritone)
Aubrey Haynie   Fiddle,Mandolin
Charlie McCoy   Harmonica
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
Lisa Cochran   Background Vocals
Melodie Crittenden   Background Vocals
Bryan Sutton   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Gut String Guitar,Guitar (Resonator)
Wes Hightower   Background Vocals
Frank Rogers   Electric Guitar,Soloist,Guitar (Baritone)
Mike Johnson   pedabro

Technical Credits

Jim Croce   Composer
Pat McLaughlin   Composer
Tim Mensy   Composer
Bobby Braddock   Composer
Craig Allen   Art Direction
Harley Allen   Composer
Greg Droman   Engineer
Jamie O'Hara   Composer
Bergen White   String Arrangements
Mark Wright   Producer
Brian David Willis   Engineer
Jason Lehning   Engineer
Katie Gillon   Art Direction
Josh Turner   Composer
Roger Younger   Composer
Casey Beathard   Composer
Monty Criswell   Composer
Richard Barrow   Engineer
Frank Rogers   Producer
T. Martin   Composer

Customer Reviews