Lonesome Road/Look Away!

Lonesome Road/Look Away!

by Doc & Merle WatsonDoc & Merle Watson


$17.20 $18.99 Save 9% Current price is $17.2, Original price is $18.99. You Save 9%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


Doc Watson's United Artists Records catalog (long-since acquired by EMI) was tapped for two compilations in the fall of 2002, this two-fer combining his 1977 album Lonesome Road and his 1978 album Look Away!, licensed by Southern Music Distribution, and Songs From Home on EMI's Capitol Records label. The flurry of activity can be traced to the success of the O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack, with its traditional country and bluegrass music. That's ironic, given that Watson's tenure at UA in the 1970s came due to the success of an earlier traditional country collection, the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band's Will the Circle Be Unbroken album, on which he appeared. The record business is nothing if not trendy, but if that's what it takes to bring two albums as enjoyable as Lonesome Road and Look Away! back into print, so be it. Watson is, of course, joined by his son, Merle Watson, on both releases, as well as by small bands that give the tracks a rocking punch. He essays a variety of country and folk standards, including Mississippi John Hurt's "My Creole Belle" (the only track that overlaps with Songs From Home) and Bob Dylan's "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right." The disc ends with two previously unreleased bonus tracks, "New Born King" and "Peace in the Valley," both of them gospel songs on which Watson is joined by an orchestra and choir. The tracks are not consistent with the feistier material from the original LPs, but they are warmly and sincerely performed and provide a reverent coda to an excellent collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/03/2002
Label: Southern Music Dist.
UPC: 0697035197722
catalogNumber: 1977
Rank: 61630


  1. I Recall a Gypsy Woman
  2. Minglewood Blues
  3. Mean Mama Blues
  4. Look Up Look Down That Lonesome Road
  5. My Creole Belle
  6. Blue Railroad Train
  7. Ain't Nobody's Fault But Mine
  8. Stone Wall (Around My Heart)
  9. I Ain't Going Honky-Tonkin' Anymore
  10. Broomstraw Philosophers and Scuppernong Wine
  11. Florida Blues
  12. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  13. My Love Come Rolling Down
  14. Gypsy Davie
  15. 'Rangement Blues
  16. You Two-Timed Me One Time Too Often
  17. Blues in My Mind
  18. It's a Crazy World
  19. Under the Double Eagle
  20. God Holds the Future
  21. Dixie
  22. New Born King
  23. Peace in the Valley

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doc & Merle Watson   Primary Artist
Johnny Gimble   Fiddle
Doc Watson   Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Michael Coleman   Bass
T. Michael Coleman   Electric Bass,Vocal Harmony
Pebble Daniel   Background Vocals
Karl Himmel   Drums,Shaker
Jim Isbell   Percussion,Drums
Marcia Routh   Background Vocals
Gove Scrivenor   Harmonica
Lisa Silver   Background Vocals
Merle Watson   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Slide Guitar
Bob Wilson   Piano
Joe Allen   Bass

Technical Credits

Doc Watson   Arranger,Adaptation
Bob Dylan   Composer
Billy Vaughn   Producer
Mitch Greenhill   Producer
Merle Watson   Producer
Ernie Winfrey   Engineer
Rev. Thomas A. Dorsey   Composer
Ria Lewerke   Art Direction
Gary Panter   Illustrations
Bill Burks   Art Direction
Traditional   Composer
Lauber   Arranger,Adaptation
William "Bleu" Evans   Engineer
Edwin Hobgood   Engineer
Bob Maile   Calligraphy
John Hurt   Composer

Customer Reviews