London Underground Serial Killer: The Life of Kieran Kelly

London Underground Serial Killer: The Life of Kieran Kelly

by Geoff Platt


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The full story of the life and times of Kieran Patrick Kelly, the London Underground Serial Killer, who wandered up and down the Northern Line of the London Underground between 1960 and 1983, pushing innocent people that he had never met under trains, and who finished up killing over thirty people.

The book provides a full biography of Kelly, discussing the details of his crimes, his victims and his ability to evade justice; he managed to secure mistrials or acquittals in twenty-five trials before being eventually convicted and sentenced to die to prison, which he did in Durham, in 2001. It could be argued that Kelly is the most investigated serial killer in the history of the world. His murders were investigated as they occurred between 1953 and 1983; they were reinvestigated in 1983 and again in 2015. The author of this book played major roles in the two latter inquiries, conducting the entire inquiry in 1983 and acting as a consultant to the 2015 inquiry. More is known about Kelly than any other serial killer in history. He was arrested before he had finished killing, then murdered his cellmate in the police station and was interviewed by the author ten minutes after this final murder, before spending the next two years discussing his crimes and his motivations with the author.
The end result is a truly unique insight into the mind of a serial killer!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781473872257
Publisher: Pen and Sword
Publication date: 03/03/2017
Pages: 160
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Geoff Platt is a freelance journalist who has written extensively for national newspapers on matters of crime and defence. As a former Police detective, he has unique access to records not usually available to authors and a huge network of contacts. His findings make for fascinating reading.

Table of Contents

Introduction 7

The Early Years in and Around Dublin - 1930 to 1960 11

The Middle Years in London - 1960 to 1983 23

Kelly's First Murder 35

Kelly's Other Murders 43

Kelly's Final Murder 63

The Police Response 79

The Trial 91

Prison Life 101

Victims and Consequences 107

The Re-investigation of the Kelly Murders 113

What Can We Learn From Kelly? 123

Appendix 1 Court of Appeal 133

Appendix 2 Alleged British Serial Killers 143

References 157

Epilogue 159

Customer Reviews