Live on Tour

Live on Tour

by John PrineJohn Prine


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 30


Prine's second live album -- which also boasts three new studio tracks -- finds the singer/songwriter in fine form. Not surprisingly, the concert segment relies heavily on material from 1991's Grammy-winning The Missing Years, including rollicking versions of "Picture Show" and "Daddy's Little Pumpkin," plus an affecting "You Got Gold" and the frequently hilarious "Jesus the Missing Years." Also here: a nine-minute reading of "Lake Marie" that improves on the version that highlighted 1995's Lost Dogs and Mixed Blessings; the previously unrecorded "Space Monkey," about a Russian primate who spent 40 years you-know-where and came back to earth after the demise of the Soviet Union; and "Illegal Smile," the ode to marijuana that dates from Prine's 1971 debut LP. The studio tracks tacked onto the end of this album are nothing to write home about, but overall, Live on Tour is a solid collection. Featuring everything from tender folk ballads to rockers packed with Prine's trademark wacky witticisms, it would be a perfect starting point for anyone who has had the misfortune to have not yet encountered this one-of-a-kind artist.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/08/1997
Label: Oh Boy
UPC: 0094012001520
catalogNumber: 120015
Rank: 8078


  1. Picture Show
  2. Quit Hollerin' at Me
  3. You Got Gold
  4. Unwed Fathers
  5. Space Monkey
  6. The Late John Garfield Blues
  7. Storm Windows
  8. Jesus the Missing Years
  9. Humidity Built the Snowman
  10. Illegal Smile
  11. Daddy's Little Pumpkin
  12. Lake Marie
  13. If I Could
  14. Stick a Needle in My Eye
  15. You Mean So Much to Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Prine   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
John Jorgenson   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin,Electric Guitar
Pat McLaughlin   Acoustic Guitar
Keith Sykes   Background Vocals
Benmont Tench   Piano,Keyboards
Bunetta   Background Vocals
Larry Crane   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Howie Epstein   Bass
Jack Holder   Electric Guitar
Phil Parlapiano   Organ,Piano,Accordion,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Joe Romersa   Percussion,Drums
Sam Shoup   Bass
Robby Turner   Steel Guitar
Gary Belz   Background Vocals
Jason Wilber   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
David Jacques   Bass,Electric Bass,Upright Bass
David Steele   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Dave Jacques   Bass,Electric Bass,Upright Bass

Technical Credits

John Prine   Producer,Executive Producer
Keith Sykes   Producer
Greg Archilla   Engineer
Bob Bullock   Engineer
Bunetta   Executive Producer
Dan Einstein   Producer,Executive Producer
Howie Epstein   Producer
David Hough   Engineer
Billy Myers   Engineer
Phil Parlapiano   Director
Timothy R. Powell   Engineer
Joe Romersa   Engineer
James Tuttle   Engineer
Mike Pfeifer   Engineer
David Channing   Engineer
Sharon Cullen   Engineer

Customer Reviews