Live in Concert 1974

Live in Concert 1974

by Kenny DavernKenny Davern


$10.95 $10.99 Save 0% Current price is $10.95, Original price is $10.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 26


This accurately named group came about when, following a European tour by the Tommy Dorsey Orchestra in the spring of 1974, British impresario Eddie Kennedy asked the orchestra's trumpeter, Pee Wee Erwin, to select a smaller ensemble for a tour of England, Germany, and Sweden later in the year. The resulting octet was basically a who's who of traditional jazz: in addition to Erwin, it included trumpeter Bernie Privin, trombonist Ed Hubble, Kenny Davern and Johnny Mince on clarinet and soprano saxophone, pianist Dick Hyman, bassist Major Holley, and drummer Cliff Leeman. This recording was made over the course of two nights in Stockholm and one in Hanover, Germany, and while the sound quality is less than sterling, it is nowhere near bad enough to mute the infectious joy or to obscure the blazing virtuosity of these top-notch players. Their touring set focused on New Orleans-style jazz rather than the more tightly arranged material that was typical of the Dorsey group, and although the program does run a bit toward rather tired material ("Sweet Georgia Brown," "Wild Man Blues," "[Back Home Again In] Indiana"), the group delivers everything with a truly amazing level of energy and invention. Highlights include Hyman's brilliant rendition of the Jelly Roll Morton piano showpiece "Fingerbuster," a tasteful but not overly reverent take on Duke Ellington's "Black and Tan Fantasy," and a thrilling version of "Oh Sister! Ain't That Hot?" A must for all fans of trad jazz.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2003
Label: Arbors Records
UPC: 0780941126723
catalogNumber: 19267
Rank: 132553


  1. Royal Garden Blues
  2. Wild Man Blues
  3. Rosetta
  4. Medley: Someday You'll Be Sorry/When Did You Leave Heaven?
  5. Sweet Georgia Brown
  6. Black and Tan Fantasy
  7. (Back Home Again In) Indiana
  8. Dear Old Southland
  9. The Man I Love
  10. Savoy Blues
  11. Fingerbuster
  12. Buddy Bolden's Blues
  13. Oh, Sister! Ain't That Hot!
  14. Love Is Just Around the Corner

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kenny Davern   Primary Artist,Clarinet,Soprano Saxophone
Dick Hyman   Piano
Pee Wee Erwin   Trumpet
Major Holley   Bass
Johnny Mince   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Eddie Hubble   Trombone
Cliff Leeman   Drums
Bernie Privin   Trumpet

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Earl Hines   Composer
Jelly Roll Morton   Composer
Kid Ory   Composer
Bubber Miley   Composer
Louis Armstrong   Composer
Ben Bernie   Composer
Henry Creamer   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Turner Layton   Composer
Ballard MacDonald   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Clarence Williams   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Brian Peerless   Liner Notes
Harry White   Composer
Henri Woode   Composer
Mat Domber   Producer
Rachel Domber   Producer
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Richard A. Whiting   Composer
Kenneth Casey   Composer
Walter Bullock   Composer
Lewis Gensler   Composer
Luke Melton   Cover Design
Leif Karlsson   Engineer
James Hanley   Composer
Rachel & Mat Domber   Producer

Customer Reviews