Live From the Bowery 2011

Live From the Bowery 2011

by New York Dolls


$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Glam rock icons the New York Dolls built their fame on two near-perfect '70s albums before disintegrating into several decades of solo projects and an ever-growing legacy. The Dolls released more new original material since their 2004 reunion than they did even in their salad days, with three studio albums and several live recordings in the five years that led up to Live from the Bowery. It's no wonder, then, that the set list for this date is heavier on the band's post-reunion material and runs through only a few obligatory renditions of the classics. Over three decades after their creation, original trash rockers like show-opener "Looking for a Kiss," "Who Are the Mystery Girls?," and "Personality Crisis" are untouchable classics, and the band (the two surviving founding members David Johansen and Sylvain Sylvain joined by a host of backing players) is in great form, slightly less sloppy and dangerous than its earliest days, but raw and rocking all the same. The newer songs are neither embarrassing nor incredibly out of touch, a rare feat for any band reuniting years after its glory days. Songs like "Funky But Chic" and "I'm So Fabulous" don't have the same bite or swagger of the early songs, but are rugged fun with a somewhat updated big-city grit to them. The maudlin ballad "Kids Like You" is perhaps the most mature and interesting of the Dolls' new songs, with Johansen reflecting on the younger generation with wistful nostalgia in a husky Tom Waits-ian croon.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/01/2012
Label: Floating World
UPC: 0805778261413
catalogNumber: 7826141
Rank: 121327


Album Credits

Performance Credits

New York Dolls   Primary Artist
David Johansen   Group Member
Earl Slick   Group Member
Sylvain Sylvain   Group Member
Brian Delaney   Group Member
Jason Hill   Group Member

Technical Credits

David Johansen   Composer
Sylvain Sylvain   Composer
Bill Kelsey   Camera Operator
Bo Diddley   Composer
Arthur Kane   Composer
Steven Remote   Producer,Engineer
Alan Robinson   Liner Notes
Johnny Thunders   Composer
Phil Sullivan   Tour Manager
Craig Averill   Legal Counsel
Joel Salkowitz   Additional Production
Glenn Thomas   Camera Operator
Evan Haiman   Executive Producer
Steve Martin   Booking
Ron Stone   Management
Ed Martinez   Director
Jason Garren   Producer
Andy Somers   Booking
Tak Kato   Animation
Ray McDonough   Camera Operator
Phil Leibowitz   Lighting Director
Mark Abbenda   Additional Production
Lucia McCalmont   Music Business Affairs
John Safchinsky   Camera Operator
John Rollman   Additional Production
Jerodd Wilkins   Management
Doug Anderwavich   Additional Production
Craig Wozniak   Camera Operator

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews