Live at the Sticky Wicket

Live at the Sticky Wicket

by Dick WellstoodDick Wellstood


$10.95 $10.99 Save 0% Current price is $10.95, Original price is $10.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 18


The Big Three of post-World War II stride piano were Ralph Sutton, Dick Hyman and the late Dick Wellstood, who passed away in 1987. This double CD from 1997, recorded just 8½ months before Wellstood's death, contains all of the music performed by the pianist during an informal club appearance and recorded privately with his permission; it was released here for the first time. Although a masterful stride player, Wellstood was not unaware of later developments in jazz (he always liked Thelonious Monk), and his extensive program even features a striding version of "Giant Steps," which he turns into a bit of a joke. An expert at interpreting James P. Johnson tunes, Wellstood also includes a variety of swing standards, Duke Ellington numbers and selections by Fats Waller, Jelly Roll Morton and George Gershwin, among many others. He informally talks to the audience about the music between most of the songs, answers a few requests and cracks some jokes. Although the talking may seem a bit tiresome by the third listen, Wellstood's piano playing is heard throughout in prime form and is filled with many exciting moments. Highly recommended to lovers of stride piano.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/1997
Label: Arbors Records
UPC: 0780941118827
catalogNumber: 19188
Rank: 99068


Disc 1

  1. Lullaby of Birdland
  2. How About You?
  3. If Dreams Come True
  4. St. James Infirmary
  5. Birmingham Breakdown
  6. Ain't Misbehavin'
  7. Snowy Morning Blues/Carolina Shout [Medley]
  8. There Is No Greater Love
  9. Fidgety Feet
  10. The Entertainer
  11. Handful of Keys
  12. You Go to My Head
  13. I've Got a Feeling I'm Falling/Zonky [Medley]
  14. Ain'tcha Got Music?/Old Fashioned Love [Medley]
  15. Keep off the Grass

Disc 2

  1. Ring Dem Bells/Sophisticated Lady/Jumpin' Punkins [Medley]
  2. Someone to Watch over Me/How Long Has This Been Going on?/Liza ...
  3. Maple Leaf Rag
  4. Russian Rag
  5. Caravan
  6. Limehouse Blues
  7. Diane (I'm in Heaven When I See You Smile)
  8. Giant Steps
  9. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?/Groovin' High [Medley]
  10. The Pearls
  11. Like Someone in Love
  12. Shoe Shine Boy
  13. Lulu's Back in Town
  14. Prelude to a Kiss/Pitter Panther Patter [Medley]
  15. My Melancholy Baby
  16. Keepin' out of Mischief Now
  17. March of the Musketeers

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dick Wellstood   Primary Artist,Piano

Technical Credits

Mercer Ellington   Composer
Michel Legrand   Composer
Fats Waller   Composer
Eddie Edwards   Composer
Marty Grosz   Liner Notes
Nick LaRocca   Composer
Alan Bergman   Composer
Marilyn Bergman   Composer
Henry W. Ragas   Composer
Tony Sbarbaro   Composer
Larry Shields   Composer
Mat Domber   Executive Producer
Rachel Domber   Executive Producer
Diane McClumpha Wellstood   Producer,Liner Notes
Harry Link   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Joe Primrose   Composer
Billy Rose   Composer

Customer Reviews