Live at Newport

Live at Newport

by Joan BaezJoan Baez


$15.69 $17.99 Save 13% Current price is $15.69, Original price is $17.99. You Save 13%.


This album draws tracks from Joan Baez's appearances at the 1963, 1964, and 1965 Newport Folk Festivals, a time period in which she was the very epicenter of the folk scene. With her clear, strong, and bell-like soprano, Baez brought together traditional-folk materials with some of the best songs of the then-emerging songwriters of the so-called folk revival (she was the introduction for many to the work of Bob Dylan, Phil Ochs, Richard Fariña, and others), projecting a thematic unity between the old and the new that was instrumental in the success of the 1960s folk boom. This collection isn't quite as striking as her other live albums from this period, although only by degree, and there are several interesting tracks here, including the opener, a live version of Dylan's beautiful "Farewell Angelina," which seems almost written for (or about?) Baez. A duet with Mary Travers on "Lonesome Valley" is another highlight, as is an audience singalong on "Johnny Cuckoo." The final two tracks, "It Ain't Me Babe" and "With God on Our Side," are duets with Dylan, and while these performances may have strong historical value, the truth is that Baez and Dylan didn't sing well together at this point in their association, with both singers dragging the song in two different directions at once, almost as if it were a battle for dominance, which, time suggests, it may well have been.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/17/1996
Label: Vanguard Records
UPC: 0015707701525
catalogNumber: 77015


  1. Farewell Angelina
  2. Long Black Veil
  3. Wild Mountain Thyme
  4. Come All Ye Fair and Tender Maidens
  5. Lonesome Valley
  6. Hush Little Baby
  7. Te Ador/Te Manha
  8. All My Trials
  9. It's All Over Now Baby Blue
  10. Unquiet Grave
  11. Oh Freedom
  12. Satisfied Mind
  13. Fennario
  14. Don't Think Twice It's Alright
  15. Johnny Cuckoo
  16. It Ain't Me Babe
  17. With God on Our Side

Album Credits

Customer Reviews