Little Red Record [Bonus CD]

Little Red Record [Bonus CD]

by Matching MoleMatching Mole
3 New & Used Starting at $12.84


Released later in the same year as their debut, this 1972 album was the band's last. The punningly titled band (an English pronunciation of the French translation of Robert Wyatt's previous band, Soft Machine) broke up just after it was issued. This outing is a bit more experimental than its predecessor, favoring a range of sonic experiments, such as "Gloria Gloom." This also marked the debut of one of Wyatt's most gorgeous enduring songs, "God Song." Its quiet bearing actually points the way for his classic solo albums that followed a few years later (Rock Bottom and Ruth Is Stranger Than Richard). Produced by Robert Fripp, this album presents the more intellectual and introspective side of the era's British progressive bands. It has aged very well over the decades and is an important chapter in Wyatt's varied career and output.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/06/2012
Label: Esoteric
UPC: 5013929431249
catalogNumber: 2943124
Rank: 39728


  1. Starting In the Middle of the Day We Can Drink Our Politics Away
  2. Marchides
  3. Nan True's Hole
  4. Righteous Rhumba
  5. Brandy As In Benj
  6. Gloria Gloom
  7. God Song
  8. Flora Fidgit
  9. Smoke Signal
  10. Instant Pussy/Lithing and Gracing
  11. Marchides
  12. Part of the Dance
  13. Brandy As In Benj
  14. Starting in the Middle of the Day We Can Drink Our Politics Away [Take
  15. Smoke Signal
  16. Flora Fidget
  17. Mutter

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews