Little Death Shaker

Little Death Shaker

by Raymond Byron and the White FreighterRaymond Byron and the White Freighter


View All Available Formats & Editions
2 New & Used Starting at $2.99


Little Death Shaker is the debut album from Raymond Byron & the White Freighter -- sort of. Raymond Byron is really Ray Raposa of San Diego's Castanets, and since that band featured a floating configuration of musicians and was always centered around Raposa's singing and songs, and since many of those same musicians are also present on this release, which is also centered around Raposa's singing and songs, Little Death Shaker is essentially a new Castanets album. There aren't any serious departures from Raposa's Will Oldham/Palace Brothers-styled dark, skewed, and eerie Americana here, either, although Raposa's songs on Little Death Shaker fall a shade to the more narrative side than the songs on his Castanets releases. It's all part of the same dark quilt. It's a wonderful quilt at times, though, and songs here like "Don't That Lake Just Shine," "Whipporwill," and "Stateline" are dark personal tales of desolation and a desperate search for redemption. At times they almost could pass for country, although they embrace a different kind of America, the kind one finds at all-night truck stops at 4 a.m. when all the dancing and drinking is over and there simply isn't anywhere else to go. That's the America Raposa inhabits in these songs, and it's the same place he's explored as the Castanets. Somehow it's comforting, if not exactly uplifting. Hope shines brightest in the darkest places.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/04/2012
Label: Asthmatic Kitty
UPC: 0656605608723
catalogNumber: 56087

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Raymond Byron and the White Freighter   Primary Artist
Brian Wright   Vocals,Musician
Emil Amos   Vocals,Musician
Cory Gray   Vocals,Musician
Erik Clampitt   Vocals,Musician
Justin Auld   Vocals,Musician
Raymond Byron   Vocals,Musician
Matthew Houck   Vocals,Musician
Nick Delffs   Vocals,Musician
Bridgit Jacobsen   Vocals,Musician
Andrew Weaver   Vocals,Musician
Yonathan Kifle   Vocals,Musician
Talia Gordon   Vocals,Musician
Ryne Warner   Vocals,Musician
Dan Wilson   Vocals,Musician

Technical Credits

Kate Wolf   Composer
Cory Gray   Producer,Engineer
Dan Reeder   Composer
Raymond Byron   Composer,Producer
Jeff Bowers   Images
April Sanders   Cover Photo
D.M. Stith   Layout

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews