Listening For God: A Ministers Journey Through Silence And Doubt

Listening For God: A Ministers Journey Through Silence And Doubt

by Renita J. Weems


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, December 7


Throughout the past two decades, Renita J. Weems has been noted and praised for her writing, galvanizing national speaking, and pioneering scholarship in the field of Old Testament studies. Yet in the midst of her celebrated work, she was experiencing a profound spiritual crisis permeated by a hollow, painful silence that seemed, at times, to mark an irreparable rupture in her communication with God.
In this deeply affecting book, Weems addresses the believer's yearning for God through periods of inconstancy, vacillation, and disenchantment. Her own spiritual disquietude will be familiar to all who struggle to maintain faith while the details of daily life — negotiating with children and spouses, caring for ailing parents, living up to professional expectations, developing hobbies, managing finances, and planning for the future — compete for energy with one's relationship with God. In sharing her own strategies for redefining mundane rituals so that they contribute to reverence and devotion, Weems offers a beacon of light for all believers struggling to listen for God amidst the din of worldly demands and distractions.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780684863139
Publisher: Touchstone
Publication date: 12/05/2000
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 739,899
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.44(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Renita J. Weems is a writer, Bible scholar, and minister, and the author of Just a Sister Away and I Asked for Intimacy. She lives with her husband and their daughter in Nashville, Tennessee, where she also teaches Old Testament studies at Vanderbilt University Divinity School.

Table of Contents



Chapter One: The Mystery of Silence and Prayer

Stumbling in the Silence

Around and Around

Surrender to the Silence

Believing in Believing

A Chance Encounter

Teach Us to Pray

I Know Why Sarah Laughed


The Longest Prayer

Ordinary Time

Blessed Quietness

Saint Fallow

Come Sunday

Chapter Two: The Mystery of Ministry

And the Word Became Flesh


I Too Have a Dream

The Welcome Table

The Tap of an Angel

Holy Ground

The Itinerant Journey

Chapter Three: The Mystery of Marriage and Mothering

Behold, I Show You a Mystery

Mother's Day

The Grace of Daily Obligation

If I Knew Then What I Know Now


Chapter Four: The Mystery of Miracles

Eternal Life

The Music of Noise

Lord, There's Been a Great Change in Me


The Last Day for Miracles

Behold, I Show You a Mystery

When the Bush Stops Burning


Customer Reviews