by Sleep Party PeopleSleep Party People


$13.59 $13.99 Save 3% Current price is $13.59, Original price is $13.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Continuing to evoke an unearthly quality visually reinforced by their habit of wearing rabbit masks in live performance, Lingering is the fourth long-player from Sleep Party People and the post-rock project's debut for Joyful Noise. The work of Danish multi-instrumentalist Brian Batz, who often performs live with a backing band, is typically diverse but uniformly off-kilter, and Lingering is no exception. The 12-track set, which includes titles like "Odd Forms" and "Fainting Spell," ranges from the rhythmic and mournfully melodic to more ambient dreamscapes, excelling where he combines all of the above. Batz's Thom Yorke-like airy high range, sonorous acoustic drums, insistent bass, and a mix of industrial-leaning timbres and spacy synth and guitar effects makes for an anxious opening track suitable for the dance floor in "Figures." Elsewhere, "Salix and His Soil" opens like a classic Atari game with warm, melodic tones, hyper beats, and unsettling scraping sounds. The floatier "The Missing Steps" shimmers and warps along a vocal melody that's doubled by accompaniment, both instrumental and, eventually, human. Additional vocalists (including a featured performance by one-time Air collaborator Beth Hirsch) and drummer Anders Bach are the only other performers on the record, with Batz covering everything else. The whole album is kind of weird and beautiful and, as if it weren't already an oddity, can double as surreal background music or engrossing headphone material.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2017
Label: Joyful Noise Records
UPC: 0714270691034
catalogNumber: 69103
Rank: 102153

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sleep Party People   Primary Artist
Peter Silberman   Choir, Chorus
Anders Bach   Drums
Aske Bode   Choir, Chorus
Jacob Haubjerg   Choir, Chorus
Nikolaj Paakjær Mikkelsen   Choir, Chorus
Jonas Petersen   Choir, Chorus
Kaspar Kaae   Choir, Chorus
Stine Grøn   Choir, Chorus
Disa Jakobs   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

Anders Bach   Producer
Jakob Winther   Drum Engineering
Jacob Haubjerg   Producer
Brian Batz   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Clàudio Tavares   Vocal Engineer
Roby Dwi Antono   Cover Art

Customer Reviews