Let Me Up (I've Had Enough) [180 Gram Vinyl]

Let Me Up (I've Had Enough) [180 Gram Vinyl]

by Tom Petty & the HeartbreakersTom Petty & the Heartbreakers

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - 180 Gram Vinyl)

$12.49 $24.99 Save 50% Current price is $12.49, Original price is $24.99. You Save 50%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers spent much of 1986 on the road as Bob Dylan's backing band. Dylan's presence proved to be a huge influence on the Heartbreakers, turning them away from the well-intentioned but slick pretensions of Southern Accents and toward a loose, charmingly ramshackle roots rock that harked back to their roots yet exhibited the professional eclecticism they developed during the mid-'80s. All of this was on full display on Let Me Up (I've Had Enough), their simplest and best album since Hard Promises. Not to say that Let Me Up is a perfect album -- far from it, actually. Filled with loose ends, song fragments, and unvarnished productions, it's a defiantly messy album, and it's all the better for it, especially arriving on the heels of the well-groomed Accents. Apart from the (slightly dated) rant "Jammin' Me'" (co-written by Dylan, but you can't tell), there aren't any standouts on the record, but there's no filler either -- it's just simply a good collection of ballads ("Runaway Trains"), country-rockers ("The Damage You've Done"), pop
ock ("All Mixed Up," "Think About Me"), and hard rockers ("Let Me Up [I've Had Enough]"). While that might not be enough to qualify Let Me Up as one of Petty & the Heartbreakers' masterpieces, it is enough to qualify it as the most underrated record in their catalog. [Let Me Up was re-released on LP in 2017.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2017
Label: Geffen Records
UPC: 0602547658562
catalogNumber: 002429001


  1. Jammin' Me
  2. Runaway Trains
  3. The Damage You've Done
  4. It'll All Work Out
  5. My Life/Your World
  6. Think About Me
  7. All Mixed Up
  8. A Self-Made Man
  9. Ain't Love Strange
  10. How Many More Days
  11. Let Me Up (I've Had Enough)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews