Legends of Country Blues

Legends of Country Blues


$28.92 $28.99 Save 0% Current price is $28.92, Original price is $28.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 22


JSP's Legends of Country Blues compiles five CDs of performances by Son House, Skip James, Bukka White, Tommy Johnson, and Ishman Bracey. These historic prewar recordings have been remastered, and according to the packaging, feature "unprecedented listening quality." While that claim is a bit of a stretch, the majority of this material does sound great. Unlike other packages of this type, the liner notes are informative, listing personnel, dates, and concise history without going on ad nauseam. As an extra bonus this is a budget-priced set, making it highly recommended, especially for the blues novice.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2003
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065771522
catalogNumber: 7715
Rank: 121138


Disc 1

  1. Devil Got My Woman
  2. Cypress Grove Blues
  3. Cherry Hall Blues
  4. Illinois Blues
  5. Four O'Clock Blues
  6. Hard Luck Child
  7. Hard Time Killin' Floor Blues
  8. Yola My Blues Away
  9. Jesus Is a Mighty Good Leader
  10. Be Ready When He Comes
  11. Drunken Spree
  12. I'm So Glad
  13. Special Rider Blues
  14. How Long Buck
  15. Little Cow and Calf Is Gonna Die Blues
  16. What Am I to Do Blues
  17. 22-20 Blues
  18. If You Haven't Any Hay Get on Down the Road
  19. Walkin' Blues
  20. My Black Mama, Pt. 1
  21. My Black Mama, Pt. 2
  22. Preachin' the Blues, Pt. 1
  23. Preachin' the Blues, Pt. 2
  24. Dry Spell Blues, Pt. 1
  25. Dry Spell Blues, Pt. 2

Disc 2

  1. Levee Camp Blues
  2. Government Fleet Blues
  3. Walking Blues
  4. Shetland Pony Blues
  5. Fo' Clock Blues
  6. Camp Hollers
  7. Delta Blues
  8. Special Rider Blues
  9. Special Rider Blues
  10. Low Down Dirty Dog Blues
  11. Depot Blues
  12. The Key of Minor
  13. American Defense
  14. Am I Right or Wrong
  15. Walking Blues
  16. Country Farm Blues
  17. The Pony Blues
  18. The Jinx Blues, Pt. 1
  19. The Jinx Blues, Pt. 2

Disc 3

  1. The New Frisco Train
  2. The Panama Limited
  3. I Am in the Heavenly Way
  4. Promise True and Grand
  5. Pine Bluff, Arkansas
  6. Shake 'Em on Down
  7. Sic 'Em Dogs On
  8. Po' Boy
  9. Black Train
  10. Strange Place Blues
  11. When Can I Change My Clothes
  12. Sleepy Man Blues
  13. Parchman Farm Blues
  14. Good Gin Blues
  15. High Fever Blues
  16. District Attorney Blues
  17. Fixin' to Die Blues
  18. Aberdeen Mississippi Blues
  19. Bukka's Jitterbug Blues
  20. Special Stream Line

Disc 4

  1. Cool Drink of Water Blues
  2. Big Road Blues
  3. Bye Bye Blues
  4. Maggie Campbell Blues
  5. Canned Heat Blues
  6. Lonesome Home Blues
  7. Lonesome Home Blues
  8. Big Fat Mama Blues
  9. I Wonder to Myself
  10. Slidin' Delta
  11. Lonesome Home Blues
  12. Untitled (Morning Prayer Blues)
  13. Untitled (Boogaloosa Woman)
  14. Black Mare Blues
  15. Black Mare Blues
  16. Ridin' Horse
  17. Alcohol and Jake Blues

Disc 5

  1. Stranger Blues
  2. Saturday Blues
  3. Left Alone Blues
  4. Leavin' Town Blues
  5. Leavin' Town Blues
  6. Brown Mama Blues
  7. Brown Mama Blues
  8. Trouble Hearted Blues
  9. Trouble Hearted Blues
  10. The Four Day Blues
  11. The Four Day Blues
  12. Jake Liquor Blues
  13. Family Stirving
  14. Mobile Stomp
  15. Farish Street Rag
  16. Woman, Woman Blues
  17. Suitcase Full of Blues
  18. Bust Up Blues
  19. Pay Me No Mind
  20. Heavy Suitcase Blues
  21. Louisiana Bound
  22. Too Damp to Be Wet
  23. Where My Shoes At?

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Skip James   Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Foot Stomping
Tommy Johnson   Guitar,Vocals
Charley Patton   Guitar
Bukka White   Guitar,Vocals
Alan Lomax   Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Miss Minnie   Vocals
Ishman Bracey   Guitar,Vocals,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Willie Brown   Guitar,Vocals
Napoleon Hairiston   Guitar,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Son House   Vocals,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part,Slide Guitar
Fiddlin' Joe Martin   Mandolin,Vocals,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Charlie McCoy   Guitar,Mandolin
Kid Ernest Michall   Clarinet
Rosie Mae Moore   Vocals
Washboard Sam   Washboard
Charley Taylor   Piano,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Leroy Williams   Harmonica

Technical Credits

Skip James   Composer
Tommy Johnson   Arranger,Composer
Charley Patton   Composer
Bukka White   Composer
Ishman Bracey   Composer
Bill Ellis   Composer
Son House   Composer
Robert Johnson   Composer
Johnny Parth   Composer
Traditional   Composer

Customer Reviews