Legend [Deluxe Edition]

Legend [Deluxe Edition]

by Bob Marley & the WailersBob Marley & the Wailers

CD(Remastered / Special Edition / Digi-Pak)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


There's a reason why this best-of collection has been a steady bestseller since it debuted in 1984: It's got the goods. The 14 songs on Legend go a long way toward demonstrating why Marley rose to become an international superstar. The man melded potent hooks, straight-shooting sincerity, and reggae riddims into some of the most engaging pop anywhere. There's the propulsive "Could You Be Loved," the revolutionary "Get Up Stand Up," which he wrote with Peter Tosh, and the Dylanesque anthem "Redemption Song." The hit parade rolls on with Marley classics like "No Woman No Cry," "I Shot the Sheriff," and the aching love song "Waiting in Vain." Like Marley himself, these songs are truly charismatic. If you can't afford the remarkable Songs of Freedom box set, this disc captures the best of Bob. And that's pretty much the best there is.

The 2002 Deluxe Edition contains a second disc of remixes done around the original mid-'80s issue date of Legend, including the worldbeat dance mix of "Buffalo Soldier" that appeared on some versions of the original LP. Rounding out the first disc are two bonus tracks, "Easy Skanking" and "Punky Reggae Party." The entirely new repackaging boasts a 28 page booklet and rare photos.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/12/2002
Label: Island
UPC: 0731458671428
catalogNumber: 586714
Rank: 49738


Disc 1

  1. Is This Love
  2. No Woman No Cry
  3. Could You Be Loved
  4. Three Little Birds
  5. Buffalo Soldier
  6. Get Up Stand Up
  7. Stir It Up
  8. Easy Skanking
  9. One Love/People Get Ready
  10. I Shot the Sheriff
  11. Waiting in Vain
  12. Redemption Song
  13. Satisfy My Soul
  14. Exodus
  15. Jamming
  16. Punky Reggae Party

Disc 2

  1. One Love/People Get Ready
  2. Waiting in Vain
  3. Jamming
  4. Three Little Birds/Three Little Birds
  5. Could You Be Loved
  6. No Woman No Cry
  7. Coming in from the Cold
  8. Buffalo Soldier
  9. Jamming
  10. Waiting in Vain
  11. Exodus
  12. Lively Up Yourself
  13. One Love/People Get Ready

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bob Marley & the Wailers   Primary Artist
Joe Higgs   Percussion,Background Vocals
Bob Marley   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Rita Marley   Background Vocals
Judy Mowatt   Background Vocals
Yasha Anderson   Guitar
Aston Barrett   Percussion,Bass Guitar
Tyrone Downie   Percussion,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Marcia Griffiths   Background Vocals
Bernard Touter Harvey   Organ,Piano
Donald Kinsey   Guitar
Earl Lindo   Percussion,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Bunny Livingston   Bongos,Conga,Vocals
Peter MacKintosh   Organ,Guitar,Piano,Vocals
Julian Marvin   Guitar,Background Vocals
Alvin Patterson   Percussion
Earl "Chinna" Smith   Guitar,Percussion,Rhythm Guitar
Peter McIntosh   Organ,Guitar,Piano,Vocals

Technical Credits

Bob Marley   Composer,Producer
Steve Smith   Producer
Chris Blackwell   Producer
Errol Brown   Producer,Remixing
Godwin Logie   Remixing
Julian Mendelsohn   Remixing
Lee "Scratch" Perry   Producer
Alex Sadkin   Remixing
Eric "ET" Thorngren   Producer,Remixing
Vartan   Art Direction
Bob Marley & the Wailers   Producer
Andy Engel   Slipcover Concept
Vincent Ford   Composer
Jane Hitchin   Tape Research
David Lascelles   Tape Research
Zoe Roberts   Tape Research
Paul "Groucho" Smykle   Remixing

Customer Reviews