Leakeys: A Biography (Greenwood Biographies Series)

Leakeys: A Biography (Greenwood Biographies Series)

by Mary Bowman-Kruhm

NOOK Book(eBook)

$28.49 $32.00 Save 11% Current price is $28.49, Original price is $32. You Save 11%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Three generations of Leakeys have dug in East Africa for fossil evidence that answers questions about human origins. Louis and Mary, husband and wife, began what would turn into decades of research and fieldwork, often disproving common theories and beliefs of the time. Son Richard would follow in his father's foot steps, along with his wife Meave, and would make spectacular finds as well. Louise, oldest daughter of Richard and Meave, continues the family tradition today with fieldwork in northern Kenya. The Leakey family's achievements have had an enormous impact on our knowledge of human origins and evolution. This biography describes their life in detail, including their discoveries, publications, controversies, and legacy. A timeline, glossary, and bibliography of print and electronic sources supplement the material.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780313062117
Publisher: ABC-CLIO, Incorporated
Publication date: 08/30/2005
Series: Greenwood Biographies
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 532 KB

About the Author

MARY BOWMAN-KRUHM is author of over 30 books for children and young adults and a member of the faculty, Johns Hopkins University, School of Professional Studies in Business and Education.

Table of Contents

Series Foreword

Dedication and Acknowledgments


Significant Events in the Lives of the Leakeys

A Fact-finding Mission (Forward to the Past)

In the Beginning (Louis, 1925-1933)

Positive Choices, Negative Voices (Mary, 1913-1936; Louis, 1933-1936)

War and Children: Real Time (1937-1946)

Peace and Turmoil, Personal and Political (1947-1958)

Human History Carved in Bone (1959-1971)

Skull Drudgery and Skullduggery (1972-1977)

Contentious, Contention, and a Critical Condition (1978-1988)

Burning His Tusks behind Him (1989-2003)

But Wait, There's More (2004 and Beyond)



Customer Reviews