3 New & Used Starting at $1.99


Later is a double-disc set aimed at people who want some mellow tunes to chill out to. Some of the artists are well-known (the Pet Shop Boys, who contribute the ambient mix of "Home and Dry"; Saint Etienne, who lend "The Way We Live Now"; and Moby, whose "Signs of Love" is included), but most of the other 28 are relatively obscure. That isn't a problem. What is a problem is a lack of discipline on the part of the people who put the disc together. They promise chilled grooves, but the disc undermines its purpose on the second track; 16B's clattering "Escape" sounds like a Depeche Mode outtake and shatters the subdued mood created by Thievery Corporation's sultry "Until the Morning," which kicks off the collection. There are moments like this throughout where the mood is shattered by inappropriate picks. Perhaps distilled down to one disc, the project would have been more successful, since there are quite a few nice, relaxing tracks here like Zero 7's "In the Waiting Line"; Airlock's "Slipinside"; Chris Coco's version of Fleetwood Mac's "Albatross," which actually features Peter Green on guitar; Bent's "Private Road"; and Neon Heights' sunshine-filled gem"16 Again." The disc may not deliver quite the chilled experience it sets out to, but if you don't mind taking a minute to program out the mood-wreckers, it comes pretty close. A qualified success, then, and a good pickup for club kids and stressed-out humans who want to relax a little.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2003
Label: Surge Recordings
UPC: 0822882001629
catalogNumber: 16

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pet Shop Boys   Track Performer
Moby   Vocals
Peter Green   Guitar
Per Martinsen   Track Performer
Chris Traynor   Guitar
Dan Rowe   Vocals
Richard Morel   Vocals
Chris Coco   Track Performer
Anji   Vocals
Sacha Puttnam   Track Performer
Zoe Johnston   Vocals
Jess Banks   Vocals
Mirko Banovic   Bass
Ulf Nygaard   Vocals

Technical Credits

Pet Shop Boys   Producer
Moby   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Saint Etienne   Producer
Ian Astbury   Composer
Sophie Barker   Composer
Rod Bowkett   Composer,Producer
Ian Catt   Producer
Eric Hilton   Composer,Producer
Chris Lowe   Composer
Steve Lukather   Composer
Roger Sanchez   Composer
Bob Stanley   Composer
Neil Tennant   Composer
Simon White   Composer,Producer
Pete Wiggs   Composer
Henry Binns   Composer
Sam Hardaker   Composer
Per Martinsen   Composer,Producer
M. Morrison   Composer
Tchando   Composer
Jon Hall   Producer
Decoder   Producer
Omid Nourizadeh   Producer
Groove Armada   Remixing
P. Green   Composer
G.G. Anderson   Composer
Rob Garza   Composer,Producer
Airlock   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Dan Rowe   Composer
Richard Morel   Producer
Chris Coco   Programming,Producer,Remixing
Space Raiders   Composer,Producer
S. Mills   Composer
Sacha Puttnam   Programming,Producer,Engineer
J.R. Reynolds   Composer,Producer
M. Anderson   Composer
Chris Allen   Producer
Andy Dragazis   Composer,Producer
Simon Mills   Producer
Nail Tolliday   Composer,Producer
Klaus Bau Jensen   Composer
Birtchnell   String Arrangements
Steffen Aaskoven   Arranger,Producer
Aggie E. Peterson   Composer
Paul Golec   Executive Producer
Cal Gibson   Composer,Producer
Marc George Andersen   Arranger,Producer
Patricia Leidig   Composer,Producer
Kevin Ross   Composer,Producer
Ulf Nygaard   Producer
Rohan Kriwaczek   String Arrangements
Harvey John Brown   String Arrangements
Pedro Toro   Composer,Producer
Rick Smith   Producer
Jon Brooks   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews