by Jon HopkinsJon Hopkins

CD(Jewel Case)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


It would be an understatement to say that Jon Hopkins' career turned a corner between the release of his first mix album, The Art of Chill 2, and the release of his second one, a volume in the LateNightTales series. For starters, from late 2005 through early 2015, the producer/musician made albums with Brian Eno and King Creosote, composed music for a dance production and films, and released the well-regarded solo recordings Insides and Immunity. LateNightTales is Hopkins' first "proper" mix album since the tracks for The Art of Chill 2 were dealt to him. This time, Hopkins selected and mixed, and added his own touches, including piano and synthesizer, to enhance the continuous dream-like sequence. Even the contrasting consecutive picks -- like Darkstar's glistening, skyward "Hold Me Down" and Holy Other's dragging, alien "Yr Love" -- are compatible, their transitions made with ease. The majority of the mix is beatless and becalmed with periodic surges in energy that never startle. The Four Tet's "Gillie Amma, I Love You," drifting and hypnotizing with children's melodic whispers, is an ideal set-up for School of Seven Bells' bright-eyed, windswept dream pop. Hopkins inserts an exclusive of his own, a quiet, multi-piano cover of Yeasayer's "I Remember" that would highlight any ambient compilation released on Kranky, Kompakt, or Ghostly. Rick Holland, another Eno collaborator, provides the closing reading of a piece he wrote, which just happens to share its title with the Yeasayer original.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/17/2015
Label: Late Night Tales
UPC: 5060391090269
catalogNumber: 39
Rank: 75972

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jon Hopkins   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Richard Formby   Composer
David Holmes   Composer
Bill Brewster   Liner Notes
Four Tet   Composer
John Hopkins   Composer
Jon Hopkins   Liner Notes
Dustin O'Halloran   Composer
Claudia Deheza   Composer
Duncan Sumpner   Composer
Stephen Wilkinson   Composer
Keith Kenniff   Composer
Peter Broderick   Composer
Yeasayer   Composer
Benjamin Curtis   Composer
Darkstar   Composer
Alex Somers   Composer
Peter Ashworth   Cover Photo
Nils Frahm   Composer
Ben Lukas Boysen   Composer
R. Roberts   Composer
Graham Richardson   Composer
Alehandra Deheza   Composer
Holy Other   Composer
Rick Holland   Composer
Adam Bryanbaum Wiltzie   Composer
Health   Composer
Alela Diane Menig   Composer
Jón Þor Birigson   Composer
Nathan Broaddus   Composer

Customer Reviews