Last Look at Eden

Last Look at Eden

by EuropeEurope




You can always count on good ol' Europe to supply grandiose and bombastic rock of the highest order (did any song score higher on the "arena rock-o-meter" than "The Final Countdown" back in the '80s?). After reuniting for good in the early 21st century, the group -- which is still led by one-time "golden god" vocalist Joey Tempest -- has been issuing albums on a regular basis, and 2009 saw their third disc since reuniting, Last Look at Eden. The "anticipation" builds with a string-heavy "Prelude" before leading into the epic Zeppelin-meets-symphony rock of the title track. Elsewhere, you'll find songs that sound like they could have been plucked off of a modern-day Whitesnake album ("Gonna Get Ready"), the obligatory sappy power ballad ("New Love in Town"), and Zeppelin-like grooves that would make Kingdom Come green with envy ("Mojito Girl," "Only Young Twice," "U Devil U," etc.). Last Look at Eden sounds exactly as you would picture a Europe album to be in 2009 -- for better of for worse.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/2009
Label: Edel Europe
UPC: 4029758981726
catalogNumber: 5898172


  1. Prelude
  2. Last Look at Eden
  3. Gonna Get Ready
  4. Catch That Plane
  5. New Love in Town
  6. The Beast
  7. Mojito Girl
  8. No Stone Unturned
  9. Only Young Twice
  10. U Devil U
  11. Run with the Angels
  12. In My Time

Album Credits

Customer Reviews